Advice For Suits for the men

Just so the guys don't feel left out! A place for men to share their tuppence worth. Ladies are also welcome to join in.

Advice For Suits for the men

Postby MrsM » Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:53 pm

I've bn thinking for the last few days about what the men have to wear for the wedding. I was then wondering What you thought about ushers! Are you having any at your wedding and if you are (or arnt) what do you think they wear?

For the men I was thinking that as I have green detail in my dress the H2B could wear ivory waistcoat and green cravet. Groomsmen could wear ivory cravet with ivory waistcoat with green detail. What do you think? Should H2B be in ivory only?? :?

Then the ushers I wasnt sure if they just wear a plain suit with a green tie or a green cravet even. Or if they wear the same style suit as the GM and have tie/cravet?

Im really confused guys so any help really would be greatfully appriciated!!

Oh yeh do the two daddys wear the same suit as the GM???? :? :roll: :?
MrsM
Chief Missie

Have thanks: 32 times

Re: Advice For Siuts for the men

Postby MrsM » Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:07 pm

Would help if I could even spell the word in the name of the topic!!!!1 :roll: :roll: :roll: :oops: :oops:
MrsM
Chief Missie

Postby MrsM » Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:19 pm

:bump Please help guys :? :cry:
MrsM
Chief Missie

Postby MrsM » Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:32 pm

:bump please help me guys :?
MrsM
Chief Missie

Postby mrs kefjo » Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:33 pm

...okay I'll go first! ;)

I kind of like when the h2b is a bit different from the groomsmen - so in that respect I'd probably have him in plain ivory. Mind you that's just my own opinion. For the lads... hmm... either a green tie or a green cravat, and either a solid green waistcoat or like you said ivory ones with green detail - I think that would look lovely! What colour are the suits, or have you got that far yet?

Not sure about the ushers... at weddings I've been to I think they usually just wear their own thing... coordinating with the rest of ye if that's the way you want to go, but maybe ties instead of cravats?

This is me, talking gibberish. I really should make dinner... I make no sense if I haven't eaten in ages. ;)
~* 15.08.2010 & 19.09.2010 *~
mrs kefjo
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 67 times

Postby MrsM » Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:46 pm

no your making sense. we are thinking if gray for the suits.
MrsM
Chief Missie

Postby jillybean » Mon Oct 19, 2009 4:30 pm

Going Suit trying on on Thurs but was talking to the guy from Tom Morleys at the wedding fair yesterday and he made some very good points, my bridesmaids dress is red and we are geeting married 2 days b4 valentines so we were always thinking red waistcoat for himself and ivory for the lads with red ties, yere man was saying may be too much red in the photos so said stay with the cravat, also said "vanilla!" is a nicer colour than ivory for the Irish lads complexions! Honestly I think its a case of seeing himself in them before you can decide! Green sounds lovely colour though
jillybean
Regular Missie

Have thanks: 0 time

Postby MrsM » Tue Oct 20, 2009 12:59 am

oh it is so confusing!!! :roll: :?
MrsM
Chief Missie

Postby im married » Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:53 pm

ok im can only tell you what we will be doing and what i have seen,

we are getting dark grey suits, h2b will be waering silver waistcoat and best man and two dad will be waering a purple(matching the moh dress). waht h2b to stand out and be different from them, its his day too!

h2b was usher at his bro's wedding and he had the same suit as best men and grooms men but saying that i think the suits were got, as only his bros was involved and for them to be the same....get what im saying???

what im planning on doing(when we do go) is bring the colour of the moh dress(a bit of material or the dress) and get the waistcoat to match that.

im married
Supreme Missie

Have thanks: 388 times

Postby jillybean » Mon Nov 23, 2009 1:00 pm

You could always get ushers to wear ties and h2b in cravat.
Dont worry too much, suit shop guys are really nice and come up with some really good ideas and are used to the confusion around them!
jillybean
Regular Missie

Re: Advice For Suits for the men

Postby Ido » Tue Jan 12, 2010 1:44 am

We went trying on suits last week and H2B likes a dark grey jacket (Tails) and pinstripe grey trousers. We were playing around with idea of colours of waistcoats and cravts and decided that won't decide on exact colours until the other 2fells are with him and I have a bridesmaides dress with me (which I'll pop on and stand beside them) and then we'll decide if H2B will have a purple cravat or not or just ivory to match the waistcoat.
The ivory waistcoat and cravat look really well together. The flower can pick up the colour as well.

But what I wanted to ask was how much are ye paying for the suit hire? We were quoted €147 for each inclu the shoes which I thought was ok until I talked to other girls that got married recently.
What are ye being quoted and what ye getting for it?

Anyone going for the tails?
IDo

Ido
Fanatic Missie

Postby Ido » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:08 am

Ya H2B went looking around yesterday as he was off, think he got down to about €90 but he said he didn't like the selection. There is a wedding fair coming up soon maybe will have more leeway there. See we're just getting 3 suits I think get better price the more suits you're getting. Does your €80 inclu the shirt and shoes aswell? I'd be delighted with €80, I hate being ripped off.!! :nobadtalk :crackwhip
IDo

Ido
Fanatic Missie

Postby im married » Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:06 am

ya there is a wedding fair coming up here too and im dragging h2b along with me to look at suits. most places will give the groom for free but you have to be getting 5 suits or more and we're only getting four....but we'll see what they will offer with the suits in theis fair.(i'll also be able to talk to them this time as mil2b wont be there!!)

im married
Supreme Missie

Postby im married » Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:55 pm

is it normal to get shoes??? i know h2b had to buy shoes for his brother's wedding when he was usher, ad he was planning on wearing them(his not great wearing shoes and def not new shoes)

im married
Supreme Missie

Postby MrsM » Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:44 pm

no you dont need shoes if you have a pair that was suitable!!!
MrsM
Chief Missie

Next

Return to Groom Stuff