What time should groom and groomsmen arrive at church?

Just so the guys don't feel left out! A place for men to share their tuppence worth. Ladies are also welcome to join in.

What time should groom and groomsmen arrive at church?

Postby bettyboo22 » Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:22 pm

Is 20 minutes beforehand too late? What do ye think?
bettyboo22
Junior Missie

Have thanks: 0 time

Re: What time should groom and groomsmen arrive at church?

Postby sligobride11 » Thu Jun 11, 2009 11:34 am

I would reckon that 30 mins is a better option in case they are delayed a bit. The priest and sacristan will probably want a quick chat with them and to get the rings from the best man and perhaps sort out candles on the altar etc. Then the groom himself will probably need a few minutes to unwind and prepare for the biggest moment of this life! :o 20 minutes might be leaving it a bit tight.
sligobride11
Newbie Missie

Have thanks: 1 time

Postby nici75 » Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:15 am

I was told 30 mins for the groom and best man. They have to meet and greet guests. And i was told under no circumstances to be late... but surely it's a brides perogative to be late????
nici75
Newbie Missie

Postby princess_mcg » Thu Jun 18, 2009 4:48 am

i was told groomsmen had to arrive 30mins before then groom and best-man 20mins
September 26th 2009 - Best day of my life
princess_mcg
Super Missie

Have thanks: 15 times

Postby june2010 » Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:56 am

yeah i think around 30 mins is the norm altough known my fella it'll prob be 5 mins before i arrive :furious
june2010
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 5 times

Postby princess_mcg » Fri Jun 19, 2009 1:03 am

my fella will either arrive about an hr early or 20mins late.... but then again im terrible for time ill prob turn up wen we're meant to b eating dinner :lol:
September 26th 2009 - Best day of my life
princess_mcg
Super Missie

Have thanks: 15 times

Postby 086mummybear » Tue Jul 14, 2009 6:24 pm

I think i'm gonna get h2b to turn up 30 mins early. I want to arrive a little late though coz at a friends recent wedding, the start time was 1:30 but loadsa guests didn't bother turning up till 2:00! I'm gonna ring the best man before I go inside, just to make sure everyone's there! :roll: :lol:
Veteran Missie and mum of two little ones. Love my hubby, the most awesome understanding guy, couldn't do this thing called life without him. :D
086mummybear
Queen Missie

Have thanks: 121 times

Postby trees » Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:24 pm

i would say 30 mins as well if not more
our photographer is going to the church and take care of the boys there and then come to the brides house so def 30 mins before but co-ordinate with ur photographer and videographer to see how they plan on the day as the videographer usually organises everything and the photographer goes along with this so make sure to co-ordinate with them first and go from there..
trees
Super Missie

Have thanks: 12 times

Postby bettyboo22 » Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:53 pm

trees wrote:the videographer usually organises everything and the photographer goes along with this..

It's more the other way around I'd say, usually the photographer does the organising into groups for shots and the videographer captures the stuff as it happens.

I'll do my best to make sure the lads get there at least 30 mins beforehand, this seems to be the norm. And no skipping off to the pub for a quick one either! :devil2
bettyboo22
Junior Missie

Postby june2010 » Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:03 am

yeah i agree that the photographer co-ordinates it all :iagree :iagree yeah i think ill just go with whatever he says but ill def want him there at least half an hour before had! i met my photographer the other day and he said not to worry that he will keep me up to date my texting me on the day of the wedding just so i know everything is going to plan which i thought was pretty neat :clapper :D :D
june2010
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 5 times

Postby trees » Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:36 am

sorry girls - i meant to say the photographer controls the day and not the videographer -- oops sorry. :mrgreen:
trees
Super Missie

Have thanks: 12 times

Postby nearlyamrs » Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:43 am

h2b better be at the church before i arrive. :shooting . i ll have him sleeping it in if i have too..
is 30 mins right ;)
nearlyamrs
Super Missie

Have thanks: 4 times

Postby MrsM » Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:48 pm

I would think between 20 and 30 mins is right therefore he will be there when ppl arrive!!!!
MrsM
Chief Missie

Have thanks: 32 times

Postby mrs kefjo » Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:58 pm

...and half the fun for the guests is watching how nervous the groom is and going "Aww... bless". We did that at our friend's wedding. :lol:
~* 15.08.2010 & 19.09.2010 *~
mrs kefjo
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 67 times

Postby nearlyamrs » Wed Jul 15, 2009 5:01 pm

thats just cruel,, funny but cruel at the same time,, i can imagine h2b standing at the alter looking all nervous ahhh :affection
nearlyamrs
Super Missie

Have thanks: 4 times

Next

Return to Groom Stuff