Not trying to lose weight??

All health & fitness related conversation. Including dieting and weight-loss.

Not trying to lose weight??

Postby awhiletogo » Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:35 pm

Just wondering if there is anyone who's NOT planning on losing weight for their wedding??

I'm a size 12 usually, sometimes a 14 in trousers (big thighs!!) and i don't think i really want to lose weight. I think i look ok and I have my dress which fits perfectly, altho as it's a lace up back i could go down a bit and it'd still be fine. I do a lot of exercise so am quite toned so don't really have too many worries that way. No problems there you'd think...

But a couple of years ago i was a good bit thinner, maybe an 8 -10 having lost weight on ww. It was great to be a size 8, but firstly the last stone or so all came off my top and i thought i looked very pear shaped (big thighs remained!) and secondly it was really hard to keep it down, like i had to ridiculously careful with food, and had to exercise for about an hour every day without fail, which i don;t have the time for any more. People (esp where i work where there are a few abs obsessed with bmi's etc, men and women!) keep passing comments about when will i be starting my diet, how much i'm planning to lose etc, and how much better everyone looks when they're as slim as possible. Even my mother has been passing a few comments like "it's a pity now you put weight back on!"
It's actually starting to effect my confidence a bit at this stage and i'm starting to wonder if i should lose weight, if i'll regret it if i don't?
Has anyone else had any similar experiences?
awhiletogo
Golden Missie

Have thanks: 55 times

Re: Not trying to lose weight??

Postby Kinderchoc » Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:49 pm

Awhiletogo I am the same as you feel pretty confident most days. But still feel like I should try and lose something for the wedding but I made the point of ordering the dress in my actual size rather than my dream size. To me you sound like how a woman should be. Feic the rest of them because on your day you feel and look fab.

Kinderchoc
Regular Missie

Have thanks: 14 times

Postby bingowings » Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:54 pm

awhiletogo wrote:i don't think i really want to lose weight. I think i look ok and I have my dress which fits perfectly

I think you answered your own question there hun.

I'm trying to lose weight but only want to go to where you are now 12/14. If I went any smaller I'd look sick even though I've been an 8 before but that was a long time ago.

Don't worry about other people and what they say about losing weight. Most brides try to lose some kind of weight for their wedding or if not try to do something to change their appearance so other people just pick up on that and assume this is what all brides do. If you're comfortable now and love your body now well then no I don't think you should lose weight and you shout it from the highest building if you want that you're happy with the way you are and why would you want to change that. I'm sure if you spoke to your h2b about it he'd probably tell you he loves you just the way you are.

Seriously hun you've answered it yourself and your opinion is the one that counts not anyone else, even your mother!
bingowings
Goddess Missie

Have thanks: 161 times

Postby mayb2b » Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:14 pm

I am a size 10 so im lucky that way but have quite a big and high "jelly belly" since I had my daughter!actually I cant really blame her as ive always had...seems to be a trait in my family but its certainly more exaggerated since I had her and TBH I am the way I am (well im not that confident I will be wearing spanx haha!) so I wont be doing anything!!

mayb2b
Major Missie

Have thanks: 29 times

Postby awhiletogo » Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:25 pm

Awww, thanks girls, that def makes me feel better about it!

Yeah, you're right i kind of do know what i should do myself, i.e. not lose weight cos others say so, but it's just nice to have a bit of back up!

Thanks again!
awhiletogo
Golden Missie

Postby Missie_Moo » Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:34 pm

Dont think you have anything to worry about hun. I'd be about the same as you - about the norm for a woman id reckon. If i lose weight then all well and good but if i dont its not the end of the world. Anyway once you have the perfect dress on you will look fantastic no matter what :D

For this post, Missie_Moo was thanked by:
awhiletogo
Missie_Moo
Golden Missie

Have thanks: 54 times

Postby livingabroad » Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:51 pm

tell them to feck right off. people who make comments like that are insecure about themselves! i bet you would drive them insane if you replied "I'm really happy with how I look and so is my h2b so i don't feel the need for any kind of purely cosmetic change". you will infuriate them with your confidence. Its wonderful to hear someone happy with their body for a change so dont let them get to you, make sure to stick your confidence in their faces and they will back off!
livingabroad
Major Missie

Have thanks: 27 times

Postby Missie_Moo » Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:52 pm

livingabroad wrote:tell them to feck right off. people who make comments like that are insecure about themselves! i bet you would drive them insane if you replied "I'm really happy with how I look and so is my h2b so i don't feel the need for any kind of purely cosmetic change". you will infuriate them with your confidence. Its wonderful to hear someone happy with their body for a change so dont let them get to you, make sure to stick your confidence in their faces and they will back off!

Here here, couldn't agree more! :iagree
Missie_Moo
Golden Missie

Have thanks: 54 times

Postby waterplily » Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:52 pm

In my case ... I can't be bothered. I'm 10st. My bmi reckons I should be 9.5st. I've spent all my life (until about 18months ago) underweight, so I'm very happy to now be slightly over. People have commented how much healthier I look. It's happened because I've gotten lazier which is seriously affecting my fitness, so if I do anything it'll be about my fitness and not my weight or my wedding. My dress has been ordered to fit me, so I'm not doing it the other way round.

Anyone that's bugging you about it, tell them where to go - that you're grand as you are. It's working for me when people joke about it.
waterplily
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 51 times

Postby mayb2b » Fri Sep 23, 2011 3:01 pm

waterplily wrote:My dress has been ordered to fit me, so I'm not doing it the other way round.

Anyone that's bugging you about it, tell them where to go - that you're grand as you are. It's working for me when people joke about it.

Good woman yourself Waterplily!! :iagree

mayb2b
Major Missie

Have thanks: 29 times

Postby MrsKenny2013 » Fri Sep 23, 2011 3:16 pm

If you dont want to loose weight then dont!!! Dont let other people tell you that you need to when you clearly dont!!! The only reason in my mind why anybody should lose weight is for health reasons. now i am lucky im generally a size 10 and 10st. I do have a bit of a belly and have hips and love handles but couldnt be bothered stressing about weight. I have a good few friends who obsses about it and all they do is calorie count. Whats the point! once you live a healty lifestyle and get some exercise your body will find its natural shape and size. everyone is different and I think that it is terrible that people are put under so much pressure by others. My 2 sisters are both approx size 14-16 and both eat healthy and exercise but have just been like that since teenagers.

Tell them to feck off. your happy the way you are. why have the added pressure for no reason.
Emma x

I have 2 kids..... they just both happen to have 4 paws!!!

url=http://www.TickerFactory.com/]
Image[/url]

For this post, MrsKenny2013 was thanked by:
awhiletogo
MrsKenny2013
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 46 times

Postby awhiletogo » Fri Sep 23, 2011 3:18 pm

Thanks again girls!

Living abroad, i think i will say that the next time i get a comment, (which will prob be monday from the number 1 commentator in work!). It will be interesting to see what they say to that!!

Waterlily, yeah, i'd be around the same, about half a stone over my bmi. So that's great to hear!! Thanks!

On h2b's opinon, yes, he's perfectly happy the way i am now, and said he couldn't take it if i was watching every mouthful! If i do get down about it, he normally tries to cheer me up...by getting me chocolate!!
awhiletogo
Golden Missie

Postby Hailey » Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:51 pm

awhiletogo wrote:Just wondering if there is anyone who's NOT planning on losing weight for their wedding??

IEven my mother has been passing a few comments like "it's a pity now you put weight back on!"
It's actually starting to effect my confidence a bit at this stage

I know the feeling hun mother eh :wtf they can be brutally honest at times, mine is always dropping hints about ww and asking me to go wid her ( even doh she is a size 8, i'm a 16) r shur come on n we'll get some excercise :fingers2 mammy!! Im happy the way i am and by the sounds of it so r u hun, i bet u will be stunning in that dress. :hug2

For this post, Hailey was thanked by:
awhiletogo
Hailey
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 167 times

Postby awhiletogo » Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:07 am

Ha, ha, thanks Hailey, brutually honest is right! My mother is a size 8 as well, and every so often starts complaining cos she might be going up towards a ten!! Actually if that happens maybe she can go to ww with your mother, and leave us alone!!
awhiletogo
Golden Missie

Postby Virginia Woolf » Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:40 am

If you dont want to lose weight then dont hun. I am trying and Im only a 10/12 but I'm also just 5 ft and it doesnt suit me at all. Having said that I'd be happy with a stone. The reason I want to lose weight though isnt for the wedding, its for the honeymoon. I have to say my dress really suits me and actually couldnt believe how thin I looked but Im really concious of my thighs so want to be able to wear nice shorts on hm. Fair play to hun and who cares what anyone else says.

Virginia Woolf
Goddess Missie

Have thanks: 109 times

Next

Return to Health & Fitness