security for the house?

Recently engaged, don't know where to start? C'mon in and say hello to the other Missies...

security for the house?

Postby ivorydress » Sun Apr 24, 2011 1:48 pm

would love some feedback missies....our house on the main road will be empty for the day and night of the wedding...am inviting all neightbrs...place will be literally deserted..am thinking of hiring a security guy for the house...i have heard of break ins during weddings/funerals..especially with prezzies in the house...what are ye doing?
ivorydress
Junior Missie

Have thanks: 6 times

Re: security for the house?

Postby April2012 » Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:24 pm

Hi ivory dress. Would you not just consider installing an alarm at least it would always be there rather than paying a security guy.
April2012
Golden Missie

Have thanks: 44 times

Postby dreamhusband2b » Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:26 pm

id say install an alarm coz it will always b there then
dreamhusband2b
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 105 times

Postby mydaysoon » Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:27 pm

hey there, i'd never thought of this till h2b started talking about it. his family organised for 2 men they knew fairly well to stay in the house for the day and night of his sisters wedding a few years ago. he has already asked the same lads to do so again for our wedding and its not for another 5 months!! apperently its quite common.
mentioned it to my own dad about his house and he said he had a person in mind to ask also!
mydaysoon
Junior Missie

Postby Stary Em » Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:29 pm

Thats mad it somethin id never think of
Stary Em
Guru Missie

Have thanks: 107 times

Postby ivorydress » Sun Apr 24, 2011 8:14 pm

thanks girls...yep i must get onto some reliable family friend that isnt going to the weddin..however most of them are going...mite do the alarm yet!
ivorydress
Junior Missie

Postby Stary Em » Sun Apr 24, 2011 8:18 pm

hun i think alarms are a must anyway wedding or no wedding. I wouldnt move into our house till we got1. Ya jus dont no in this day and age
Stary Em
Guru Missie

Postby Pixiedust2012 » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:10 pm

deffo get an alarm , its the last thing you want to be worried about!
Pixiedust2012
Newbie Missie

Have thanks: 1 time

Postby Mallow » Sun Apr 24, 2011 10:15 pm

I would definitely get an alarm too. The funeral/wedding thins though is pretty common, I know of a family were burying their daughter, not long married with a young child she was, small community, went to the funeral and the fuckers came, broke in and cleared out the house, took all her stuff too, like that poor man hadn't enough on his mind!!

I also know a family who were all going to a wedding and got people to stay in each house, 6 of them, and while the people were gone all 6 houses got phone calls where nobody spoke at the end of the line, a family friend who is a guard said it was defo someone ringing to suss the house and if they hadn't answered they prob would have broken in, - so another option would be divert all the house phones to mobiles and get the timers for the lights.

Going away like that though I would never leave stuff of value in the house, you can't get too caught up in the "what-if's" either
Mallow
Longest Answer/Most Motivating Missie 2011

Have thanks: 158 times

Postby Stary Em » Sun Apr 24, 2011 10:17 pm

That is scary. Was that a inside job that they had the numbers of the houses
Stary Em
Guru Missie

Postby Mallow » Sun Apr 24, 2011 10:20 pm

Guards said it's very common in small communities especially hun, must have been a local. The funeral was a neighbour, they all know who it was, desperate, imagine heading off to your 34 year old wifes funeral with your 4 year old only to come home and find the house wrecked and all her stuff gone!
Mallow

Postby Stary Em » Sun Apr 24, 2011 10:21 pm

Oh god thats heartbreakin
Stary Em
Guru Missie

Postby Mallow » Sun Apr 24, 2011 10:24 pm

I know ya!! But you can't think like that either you'd go mad, feck it if they break in while I'm away at least I'm away and not in it when they break in (that's my second biggest fear), once they don't take my honeymoon suitcase I'll get over it :)
Mallow

Postby Stary Em » Sun Apr 24, 2011 10:29 pm

I no h2b is always tellin me take my car keys n purse to bed im a bitch for leavin them in the hall. Im like hell no if there after my money they can take it without comin into my bed room, thank you very much
Stary Em
Guru Missie

Postby Mallow » Sun Apr 24, 2011 10:34 pm

They did a thing about that on ray d'arcy recently asking which was best to hide your keys or leave them out, I can't t remember to outcome but I say leave them out for the same reason you said and because if there's a fire (my first biggest fear) then they are to hand.

We were broken into when I was younger, end house beside a main road the the feckers took out the front window, layed in neatly against the wall with all my mam's ornaments, climbed in and helped themselves!! My little bro disturbed them but the guards said the same guys were making sandwiches and stuff in other houses, brass necked feckers don't give a toss, so if they want to get it they will get in.

I have a can of pepper spray beside my bed though just in casers :)
Mallow

Return to Say Hello and Welcome :)