wedding car situation

Recently engaged, don't know where to start? C'mon in and say hello to the other Missies...

wedding car situation

Postby baileykn » Thu Jul 14, 2011 11:37 pm

Hi all,
Just want to check with ye what ye all are doing for your wedding party transport? Is there any ettiquette on this? We are not so sure whether we are meant to provide transport for our bm's and groomsmen or do they just drive themselves? What about for the photos? How do they get there, especially if they are travelling with a spouse/partner who is not in wedding party?

Our major prob is the fact that we are literally 4 min drive from church to reception and back, photograph location is in the middle (handy, I know!! :)) But nonetheless we kinda feel obliged to provide a limo or summit for them..... what ye all doin?? :yikes2 :speedy

Thanks a mil in advance!
baileykn
Junior Missie

Have thanks: 4 times

Re: wedding car situation

Postby MrsStokes2b » Thu Jul 14, 2011 11:58 pm

Hey, i was thinking the same thing a few weeks ago.. i know the groomsmen will be driving themself so ive jus to find transprt for the BM's.. but was thinking on just asking a friend to drive them. :) if ur that close the venue i wouldn bother hun.. :)
Cant wait to marry the greatest person who ive ever met, who has been there for me through some tough times and who will always be by my side. :)

For this post, MrsStokes2b was thanked by:
baileykn
MrsStokes2b
Nicest Avatar Missie 2011

Have thanks: 82 times

Postby baileykn » Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:06 am

Thanks MrsStokes,
You know yourself, its so hard to know what to do!
And given the cost of car hire Id feel pretty stupid paying that out for such a short trip - could walk it in 5 mins on any normal day!!!
Thats grand, thanks for the advice, you just echoed what I thought myself. And yeah I think ur right aswell, a friend with space in their car. Way I personally see it is its money saved on an already mad expensive day........ Just wanted to be sure it is the done thing before we insult anyone!!
baileykn
Junior Missie

Postby MrsStokes2b » Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:24 am

Ah noo bothers! :P Well, our reception is over half hour drive from church, i didnt wan to be paying for another car when there would be loads going aways! and if they dont like it, they can walk and thumb a lift!!! :lol: :lol:
Cant wait to marry the greatest person who ive ever met, who has been there for me through some tough times and who will always be by my side. :)

MrsStokes2b
Nicest Avatar Missie 2011

Have thanks: 82 times

Postby fionab1385 » Fri Jul 15, 2011 9:15 am

I am not going to bother hiring a car. No more than yourself Baileykn we are only 5mins from the church so i will send the bridesmaids and my mum down in my Dad's car and then a friend of mine is driving me to the church and he is going to borrow a fancy car off another friend of his so we sorted! I was getting quotes of 250-500 for renting a car which was madness for such a short journey!

For this post, fionab1385 was thanked by:
baileykn
fionab1385
Goddess Missie

Have thanks: 95 times

Postby bingowings » Fri Jul 15, 2011 9:29 am

We're not hiring cars either. Family cars will do with a bit of ribbon etc on them. There'll be a car for the bridesmaids to go together but again we're not hiring. Not actually sure about the bestman/groomsman, must talk to himself about that or let him figure it out all on his own!! Don't worry about bridesmaids or groomsmens partners they'll sort themselves out.

For this post, bingowings was thanked by:
baileykn
bingowings
Goddess Missie

Have thanks: 161 times

Postby baileykn » Fri Jul 15, 2011 9:44 am

Thanks ladies,
Just wanted the majority vote! Own cars it is and h2b and I have more to spend on honeymoon! And yeah you are right Fionab, Thats what I was being quoted for same distance (crazy) hence the post! Just gonna get my dads car for us and bros car for bm's instead.
baileykn
Junior Missie

Postby waterplily » Fri Jul 22, 2011 12:02 am

I'm thinking of not bothering with car hire for the day. I have a 5/10 mins drive to the church. I'm not sure how far to the venue yet (hoping to confirm it tomorrow), but I've decided there has to be a 30min max limit. My aunt lives up the road, so I might ask her help (and her sons) with getting the bridesmaids to the church. I hope that's not going to be a rude thing to do?
waterplily
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 52 times

Postby never2be » Fri Jul 22, 2011 12:33 am

why not ask your local taxi company if they have any nice cars and just pay the fare ?
never2be
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 50 times

Postby fionab1385 » Fri Jul 22, 2011 9:25 am

I had to book a car yesterday to bring me and Dad to the church. A friend of H2B was meant to be driving us but he has kinda gone off the rails this week so not risking it! There was no way i was paying the 250/300 when I literally live up the road so I got a taxi driver friend who has a fab car to do the job. As a favour he is only going to charge me €40 an hour and sure the absolute max i will need him is 3hrs as it's a winter wedding so we won't be getting much photos outside after the church!!
fionab1385
Goddess Missie

Have thanks: 95 times

Postby Apple » Fri Jul 22, 2011 12:41 pm

We're not hiring cars either... We're giving our own black car a wash and polish and putting some ribbons on and my brother has a fancy car so we're using his. Its gonna be grand! :)
Apple
Regular Missie

Have thanks: 12 times

Return to Say Hello and Welcome :)