Extremely stressed about hen and dont know what to do???

Discuss everything in relation to the pre-wedding frollics here. Hen & stag chat only.

Extremely stressed about hen and dont know what to do???

Postby glitterbride » Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:19 pm

hi girls,

i have an earlier post called "how many at your hen". well as it turns out i had originally about 27 invitees and it now looks like i will only be having about 11/12 definetes at my hen which includes my 3 bridesmaids and mother.

i am really disappointed with people who have come up with feeble or no excuses as to why they could not come.

i had planned on going to galway for the hen but now i m not sure if i should just pull the plug on the whole thing, i feel so stressed out and upset about it, i really wanted a big gang at it. i do understand that people dont have as much money and other committments etc but i cant help feeling disappointed.

i am considering cancelling and maybe holding something small in dublin, i just feel that i could be really embarassing going all the way to galway with such a small group, on the other hand i dont feel i would have the same sense of occasion in dublin.

i feel so stressed and dont want this to take over my wedding, people are now waiting to be emailed as to what the up to date plan is and i dont no what to do.

can anybody offer any advice, thanks for reading the post,

from a very stressed out bride to be!
glitterbride
Junior Missie

Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Extremely stressed about hen and dont know what to do???

Postby dreamhusband2b » Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:25 pm

i know exactly how u feel hun! but i wudnt go cancelling it coz u only have that many thats all i have and im happy wit that.
it is very stressful ive mine in 2weeks and i was jus sayin to h2b ive enuf to b doin witout organisin the hen aswell.cud ur bms help u?
dreamhusband2b
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 105 times

Postby bingowings » Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:28 pm

You know what sometimes the best nights out are the ones you're not looking forward to. There's alot to be said for a smaller hen in that you don't lose people or have to wait around for the whole crowd to get into nightclubs etc. I'm sure you've gone out before with a lessor amount of people and had a great time. I know this is your hen and you wanted a big gang but I still think you should head to Galway, let the hair down and just have a ball. You go ahead and have the hen you want in Galway and show the girls that have given you feeble excuses what they are missing. I think 11-12 people is loads and to be honest I've been to hens with bigger crowds and they are a pain in the ass sometimes. There's alot to be said for smaller crowds. Go nuts and have a great time you deserve it xxxx
bingowings
Goddess Missie

Have thanks: 161 times

Postby wannabe2011 » Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:48 pm

Dont be stressing out about it. I was the same with my hen a few weeks ago. I was stressed out as I invited 18 and 12 said they were going but when it came to booking it 11 came for the first night and 6 came for the second night. I really wanted a big crowd as well as all hens i have been on were huge. But when I think about it you dont get to chat to everyone and people end up getting separated and grouping up in their own gangs. My hen was really small and it was the best weekend ever!! My friends are stil talking about it. Its really not a numbers game, remember all the people that are going are going for you and you will have the time of your life. You would be mad to cancel it.Go and enjoy your hen;-)
wannabe2011
Senior Missie

Have thanks: 7 times

Postby september bride » Sun Jun 26, 2011 9:28 pm

I think 11 to 12 people is a lovely number for a hen. Thats how many I have aswell. It is hard when you planned on having more. Especially when people you planned being there arent coming. But dont let it spoil your night. You deserve a hen party and the people you have going we make sure you have a great night.
september bride
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 27 times

Postby glitterbride » Sun Jun 26, 2011 9:45 pm

thank you so much for your replies girls,
i think you are right, i would regret it if i cancelled it, i know that i am too focused on numbers and thats not what its supposed to be about,
what i think i will do is give entire responsibilty for the night to my bms so that i can get on with wedding prep, thanks again!
glitterbride
Junior Missie

Have thanks: 1 time

Postby september bride » Sun Jun 26, 2011 9:48 pm

Thats a good idea, pass it in to bm they will be only be happy to help.
No point been stressed out in the things you have no control over.
september bride
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 27 times

Postby koko » Sun Jun 26, 2011 10:05 pm

ah here, :shock: your having more than me at your hens!!! :o my god what are you stressing about??

I went to mayo a couple years ago with about that many people for a hens and it was the best! there was no hanging around for people, no trouble with taxi's etc you know like there usually is with a big group. Im glad to hear that you've decided not to cancel I think you'll have an awesome time.

now stop the stressing and get back to being the bride and enjoy the excitement of it :highfive
Missie awards 2011 : Winner of The Funniest Missie, Most Cheerful Missie, Most Original Missie, Most Random Missie,
Wittiest Missie
, If I dont make you laugh you are guaranteed to get your money back (this is not a guarantee)

koko
Winner of 5 Missie Awards 2011

Have thanks: 92 times

Postby hugbear » Sun Jun 26, 2011 10:08 pm

I think 12 is a big enough group! its what you all make of it yourselves.
hugbear
Super Missie

Have thanks: 165 times

Postby hugbear » Sun Jun 26, 2011 10:56 pm

I once went on a hens away in London with 6 of us... now I felt like that was small, but it was actually grand.
hugbear
Super Missie

Have thanks: 165 times

Postby Shivers » Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:50 am

I think 11-12 is a lovely number for a hen. There is much more chance of everybody mixing as a group. You will have a great time, don't you worry about that.

I had a hen this weekend just gone and there were between 10-15 people at varying times through the day/night and it was a nice number.

I have another hen organised for 2 weeks time and the number is close to 30 and I am petrified at the thoughts of organising them all :shock:

Go and have a ball :bounce
Shivers
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 38 times
Other Half: HeShivers

Postby Luceybride » Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:57 pm

I think that's a grand number for a hen, I'm sure I'll be having much the same and most of them will be siblings and fsil's.
I dont mind, can't wait to have the Craic with my friends, even if there were only 5 of us!
You can have a mad night out with 1 friend! Imagine the laugh you'll have with 11!!
Luceybride
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 24 times

Return to Hen & Stag