how much is too much?

Discuss everything in relation to the pre-wedding frollics here. Hen & stag chat only.

how much is too much?

Postby Kinderchoc » Wed Nov 09, 2011 5:44 pm

Hi ladies

How much is too much for a hen night? Where would you draw the line? My moh is planning a surprise one for me. But to the tune of 165 euros. To me it sounds steep? Any opinions appreciated.

Kinderchoc
Regular Missie

Have thanks: 14 times

Re: how much is too much?

Postby ms-to-mrs » Wed Nov 09, 2011 6:21 pm

Hi Kinderchoc,

I think it depends on where ye will be going and whats included in the price. I know it's a surprise for you so you wont really be able to find out. We're just going to cork for a night and its €115 each but this includes the hotel, transport, cocktails on arrival, dinner with wine and a cocktail making class. Personally I think you'd need to give everyone plenty of time to save as well.

ms-to-mrs
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 31 times

Postby Kinderchoc » Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:06 pm

Thanks I think everyone needs plenty of notice too. Esp since a a lot of people are on reduced hours and wages. Plus the expense of a wedding a few weeks later. That is brilliant value fair play. Did you organize it yourself?

Kinderchoc
Regular Missie

Postby ms-to-mrs » Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:41 am

I think if you give people enough time to save and maybe have the hen about eight weeks before the wedding to give them time to save up again afterwards it would be fine. Don't worry about it too much, everything wil be fine and if there are a few people that can't go becuase of money you could always have a night out in your home town. I'm going to head out one of the nights H2B is on his stag.

Yep, I organised the hen myself. Well my BM's helped search for deals etc but I have to admit I'm a bit of a control freak so I looked after it myself mostly. I just searched the web of the best deals in hotels and the classes etc.

ms-to-mrs
Fanatic Missie

Postby Kinderchoc » Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:12 am

I am a control freak too. She volunteered so I felt like I had to let her do it. Found out she has planned a party bus. Each to their own but I personally hate them cannot justify that money on a bus that we will be on at half 9 in the morning. So I told her to scrap the whole idea of a hen night. Not going to do something that I won't enjoy. I must sound like a right b***h.

Kinderchoc
Regular Missie

Postby ms-to-mrs » Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:23 am

OMH not at all, whats the point in doing something you wont enjoy. Your the hen it should be something to suit you. A party bus wouldn't be my cup of tea either, especially at half nine in the morning! One of my BM's ( future SIL) loves going out and going mad but in fairness to her she knows I'm not so she looked for things that I would like to do. I used to do all that when I was younger ( i'm only 30 but really over did it in my 20's so not able anymore)

If you maybe give your BM a few suggestions and then she could work around one of them and it would still be a surprise for you.

ms-to-mrs
Fanatic Missie

Postby Kinderchoc » Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:34 am

I did and so did other family members. She just did her own thing. Think she is planning a night for herself. Plus the same night she had it planned for our mam is working nights and can't get out of it. Just little things like that. I don't want a fuss I want my friends and family around me a few drinks food and a giggle. I don't do messy nights out I never did.

Kinderchoc
Regular Missie

Return to Hen & Stag