It's_my_day_soon Hen Report

Discuss everything in relation to the pre-wedding frollics here. Hen & stag chat only.

It's_my_day_soon Hen Report

Postby Its_my_day_soon » Mon Apr 18, 2011 1:55 pm

It was FANTASTIC!
Friday - Took the day off work, couldn't sleep in at all woke at my normal time anyway. So had a chilled out morning getting everything ready and sorting out what I'd need to bring. My sister and my best friend had arrived the night before so they were there as well.
About 1pm got in the car and headed for Ballincollig in Cork to pick up another friend. Also I called into the office to say hi to the girls in there who were working, naughty of me!!! One of the girls there was coming on the hen so really I was just calling in to remind her. So after that we got on the road again, as far as the Bandon road roundabout (about 10mins) and had to stop for tights for one of the girls and some soft drinks. Got going again and it was a grand old day for driving, as I had the sat Nav.
Except the SAT NAV coordinates the accomodation place gave me were seriously off, as in 20 mins away from the destination. It brought me to the middle of nowhere, where they was obviously no accomodation for us, as I was pretty sure I hadn't booked a cow shed for the lot of us. So I put in the placename Lassanroe (the place we were staying was called lassanroe cottage) into the sat nav and away we went again. We were def taking the scenic route as we were on roads about the width of my car. Sat Nav told us to turn left into an even smaller road. It was seriously bendy I couldn't see more than 10ft in front of my car, so I had to travel very slowly. We were going uphill, it wasn't too bad only about 30 degrees of slope, then after about a mile we turned another bend and we could see a bit better in front of us, the hill now got twice as steep. Damn it. So I tried to get up it, with some very nervous passengers, but I didn't have the speed to get up the hill and I had ran out of grears to change down into. So I stopped and put on the handbrake, but it wouldn't hold the car :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: my sister was nearly getting sick at this stage cos there was a drop off on her side. So I had to keep pumping the brakes as in on off on off on off, cos if there were held on I was just sliding back down the road as there was no grip with all the gravel. I tried to taked off again, but I was only burning the clutch out of it. Nothing to do missies but reverse about a mile and a half on a road that had sh*t loads of bends and a drop on one side. Put on the hazzards and hoped to god that some local wouldn't come flying around and into my car. Finally got to a house where I could reverse into the driveway and turn around. Again I stress the fact that my wheels just fitted onto the actual road. Ah it was a bit of crack. Next thing I got a picture message from the other car who was coming from mullingar at the accomodation, with the text haha beat you to it. I was delighted as they could send me on their GPS coordinates and I could find the house.
The accomodation was fantastic. I highly recommend it for a break away. hottubs, jacuzzis, superking size beds etc if you want more info and pictures, http://www.cottagesforcouples.ie/
It really is divine, hottubs are a must. Trying to convince h2b to get one for my birthday :lol: :lol:
He's having none of it, yet! I remain optimistic though.
We had a load of junk food and drinks in the cottage, and we ordered chinese out to us which was yummy!!!! We had an early night with going to the bed about 2.30am

Saturday - Woke at 7am anyway! Feck it. But one of the bridesmaids was whipping up breakfast of pancakes and fruit and she had it on the table for 9am. yummers! We were going on a pony trek at 11am near rosscarberry. We found the stables easy enough and got everyone suited and booted. It was fair funny when they were matching the horse's to the girls. It took an hour and the weather was glorious, we all had a bit of fun. Then it was on the the spa we were going to at the celtic ross hotel ( http://www.celticrosshotel.com/)in rosscarberry. It was small with only 2 treatment rooms and no real space to lounge about and chat, but we had access to the pool, sauna and steam room and used them as well. Everybody enjoyed the spa and felt fantastic afterwards
As I was in the second group in the spa we went home after it with the first group cos we didn't want to ruin all the good work they had done with the pool or steam room, we got an ice cream on the way home too. Mind you none of that stopped us having an afternoon in the hottubs. haha, fantastic!!!.
So we started getting ready for dinner in Skibbereen which was at 8.30pm (http://www.thechurchrestaurant.ie/) the restaurant was fantastic, I have not had better food. We had the phoenix menu. 4 course meal and it was 60 euro between two people with a bottle of wine included. Food was divine, and the portions huge, the server we had was amazing. we didn't want for anything. After that it was back to our house for some karaoke, and other games like scattergories, twister, jenga, wii, and the hot tub of course. Saturday night ended at 4.30am. I was the last to bed again. I did take a few minutes to go up on the little inside balcony and thank everone for coming and for making it a fantastic weekend. I had a little yellow chick for everyone on the hen, as a little keepsake. they were only 60cents each.

Sunday - Again with the waking at 7am!!! Grr. Anyways, lounged in bed and one of the bridesmaids got cracking on with a fry which was fantastic. we spent the last hour in the accomodation stipping the sheets off beds and taking towels out of the bathrooms and piling them up to make it easier for housekeeping. We also emptied all the bins and brought bottles to the bottle bank. We had to be gone by 11am. Which we were, but we were sad to go. Got home to cashel about 3, had a bag of chips with the sister and my friend who had to go on back up to longford still.
I lay on the couch to rest, woke up to my cat sleeping on me. So I went back to sleep, woke up again to two cats, one on me, and one cuddled into me. Next time I woke it was h2b coming back from his stag, and then we both went up to bed, for the rest of the afternoon/early evening for a "nap"

Really was a fab weekend. It was exactly how I wanted it done, which may be because I did all the planning. But it really was nice to see all the friends mixing together into one group.
I am in work, have a tonne of stuff to do! But I'm so sleepy
Last edited by Its_my_day_soon on Thu May 19, 2011 6:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Its_my_day_soon
Super Missie

Have thanks: 89 times

Re: Squinn's Hen Report

Postby Happily Married » Mon Apr 18, 2011 3:20 pm

Awe wow hun, everything sounds perfect!! Delighted it all went as planned! The place ye stayed looked lovely!! Might have to show h2b that website :lol:
Happily Married
Most Inspiring Missie 2011

Have thanks: 191 times

Postby suzibride » Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:27 pm

Agh brill hun sounds like you really had a ball! cant wait for mine now. Once the hens is over it wont be long til your heading down the aisle!!!!!

[/url]
suzibride
Major Missie

Have thanks: 19 times

Postby Mrs Toot » Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:54 pm

Sounds fantastic, glad you had such a good time! Although that road sounds uber scary!
Mrs Toot
Queen Missie

Have thanks: 173 times
Other Half: Mr Toot

Postby Its_my_day_soon » Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:03 pm

The road was very very scary. After I got out of that tangle my legs were all jellyish but sure I couldn't let on I was so worried about it. THe passengers would only freak out all the more then. I was really worried that the car would go over. My sister said if it were here she would of got and left the car there. But I love my car, and I wasn't going to abandon it
Its_my_day_soon
Super Missie

Have thanks: 89 times

Postby MrsT » Mon Apr 18, 2011 6:46 pm

wow! great weekend and what a great find the cottages were...i'll be bookmarking those! well done on the nail biting driving!!! :)
MrsT
Major Missie

Have thanks: 24 times

Postby Skittles » Mon Apr 18, 2011 6:51 pm

Sounds like you had a great time. Lovely report. Any pics?

xxxLove my hubbyxxx
Skittles
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 126 times

Postby MrsEL10 » Mon Apr 18, 2011 6:55 pm

Sounds like you had a brilliant weekend. Well done on the driving skills :) I have heard those cottages mentioned before. Must look into them :)
MrsEL10
Most Rational & Seasoned Missie 2011

Have thanks: 444 times

Postby MrsM2010 » Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:00 pm

Sounds fantastic!! Glad you had a great time! Not long left now. Cottages sound lovely!
MrsM2010
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 40 times
Other Half: mr2bemon

Postby Nearly Married » Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:56 pm

Thanks for the report squinn, sounds fab and fair play to ur bridemaids for cooking yummy brekkies the 2 mornings :chef I'm only dying for some pancakes now :)
Nearly Married
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 41 times

Postby Nearly Married » Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:56 pm

Thanks for the report squinn, sounds fab and fair play to ur bridemaids for cooking yummy brekkies the 2 mornings :chef I'm only dying for some pancakes now :)
Nearly Married
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 41 times

Postby cheeky monkey » Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:56 am

Sounds like you had a brill time , will def be looking into those cottages they sound fab :D Can I ask how many the cottage slept ??
squinn_july2011 wrote:Trying to convince h2b to get one for my birthday :lol: :lol: He's having none of it, yet! I remain optimistic though.
:fingerscrossed :fingerscrossed
cheeky monkey
Guru Missie

Have thanks: 163 times

Return to Hen & Stag