1%
Entry 15 - Roisin
3%
Entry 16 - Gillian
1%

Total votes : 124

Perfect Bridesmaid competition

Postby Claire » Thu Oct 07, 2010 12:29 pm

Nominate your bridesmaid as The Perfect Bridesmaid and be in with a chance to win a luxurious Spa Package for you and your bridesmaid, courtesy of Seoid Spa at Dunboyne Castle in Co. Meath.

Simply tell us why you think your bridesmaid is The Perfect Bridesmaid. Whether you are a mrs2be or already a mrs, tell us your story in approximately 200 words - how long you have known each other, why you chose her to be your bridesmaid, and how she has helped you through all those bridezilla moments! Send your entry by email to office@mrs2be.ie by Sunday 24th October 2010. Please include your username with your entry.

You can only enter the competition once so choose your nomination carefully! We will publish each entry as we receive them. Your username will not be associated with your entry. This ensures the winner is chosen based on her entry, and not on a popularity basis!

We will then open the competition to a Public Vote by all registered missies. Voting will take place from Monday 25th until 6pm Sunday 31st October 2010, when we will announce the winner.

The lucky winner will win a Gorgeous Girls Spa Package for her and her perfect bridesmaid at the Seoid Spa at Dunboyne Castle.

The Gorgeous Girls Package includes:

Rasul
The perfect funtime for you and your friend. Luxuriate in exfoliating dead sea mud in your own private Turkish chamber, where you will experience a steam and tropical rain ritual, leaving the skin totally revitisalised and glowing.

Anne Semonin Tailor Made Facial
A ‘customised' facial for your skin type. The use of essential oils and marine
extracts tend to the skin's current needs. Leaves the skin revitalized.

Sabbia Med
Sun,sand and summer exists every day of the year! Experience sunrise, mid day heat and sunset, whilst relaxing on heated sand Bliss!

Nail File and Paint
What better way to end your day of pampering - perfect the look with pretty nails!!

Best of luck to all, and we're looking forward to reading all your stories!
Claire
Mrs2be.ie Admin

Have thanks: 127 times

Re: Win a Spa Package for you and your Perfect Bridesmaid!

Postby Claire » Thu Oct 07, 2010 4:39 pm

Entry 1:

I chose my sister Ciara as my bridesmaid, & I thank god everyday that I did. Ciara is super organised & never lets anything get the better of her.

We lost our darling Daddy in 2008 & Ciara has been a tower of strenght to all of us. She has been great in making sure that Dad will be remembered in my big day.

Ciara keeps everyone up to date with emails on the jobs left to be done, the hen party & everything else. No job is too big for her & she does everything she can to keep the stress levels down.

She does all of this for me while still working full-time & looking after her 13 month old son! Some days I think this wedding wouldn't be going ahead without all of her help.

She's my sister, my bridesmaid and my best friend. I'd be lost without her.

And I know that as my Dad looks down from heaven on my big day he will be so proud of all of us & what Ciara has done to keep us together.

She's an angel & I'm so proud to be her big sister.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Entry 2:

My bridesmaid Sandra is perfect because she is my best friend. Unfortunately due to the recession we are unable to pick a date for our wedding but that has not stop Sandra keeping me excited about the big day.

There is not a week that goes by that she doesn't ring and talk about plans or organise us going to wedding fairs. She has just had a new baby and lives at the other side of the Country but she is such a good bridesmaid as she knows how down I was when my partner lost his job and all my dreams of my big day died.

I know this isn't really an exciting story but to me she is the perfect bridesmaid because of the support she gives me that one day my big day will come.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Entry 3:

I choose my best friend Marian as my Perfect Bridesmaid. we have been best friends for 15 years now and she has always been there for me. We've seen each other through secondary school - horrible uniforms, even worse acne and the bad boys who broke our hearts.

Our friendship has helped us through the toughest times in our lives - losing loved ones, going to college and being left behind when everone went to college, making huge career and personal decisions.

Even though we live on opposite sides of the country we talk nearly every day and she has me so excited about my upcoming wedding. Marian helped plan the best hen night anyone could have wished for and I am so proud and happy to have her standing beside me on our BIG day.

I needn't even consider any bridezilla like strops because I know she will put me in my place when I need it but at the same time will make sure everything is taken care of.

She is the second most important person in my life and I know she will be there until the end. My best friend and Perfect Bridesmaid Mar.

Entry 4:

Emma was the best bridesmaid and the chief! There wasn't anything she wouldn't do. We met in college and traveled together to Europe and to New York. She's a great laugh and full of adventure! I admired her bravery of volunteering in Africa and going solo through parts of South America.

I have no sisters and I could always rely on her in the run up to the wedding. She traveled to wedding fairs, came to bridal shops, chanced make overs and was always encouraging! When the stress of the hen arrived, she took all the organizing on board and did all the hard work- taking another thing off my long list!

She was fabulous on the day of the wedding. Nothing was too much to ask and she was there to fix the veil during the toilet breaks etc! The priest who was on wedding ninety-nine commented that he never saw a better bridesmaid! In the lead up to the big day she also helped clear up the church, helped me around the house (in-laws were staying!) and made sure that we had everything we needed, including baskets for the guests in the bathroom.

Emma is the best friend anyone could ask, always patient and a great listener. She's like the sister I never had!

Entry 5:

I would like to nominate my best friend and my bridesmaid Susan for the Perfect Bridesmaid.

She has been a tower of strength the last few months for me as I recently lost my nana and I honetly dont know what I would do without her. She was going through her own health crisis which thankfully everything is grand now.

We got engaged around the same time and it's so exciting planning our big days together and can't wait for them to happen!

She keeps me calm when I get freaked out over something silly or work or whatever it may be, whilst she is as cool as a breeze and so laidback.

I would love for her to have this prize as she recently lost her job and things haven't been easy for her, but not once has she ever let it get to her. She always has a smile and a cheery welcome, rain, hail or shine, and this would be a welcome surprise for her!!!!

Thanks for taking the time to read this and best of luck to all the other missies and their equally deserving bridesmaids! :)

Entry 6:

My bridesmaid is my sister and best friend Michelle. She has been an absolute Godsend with all the planning and she is probably more excited than me about the day! She's always at hand to organise and suggest things and she has not missed a single shopping trip (thus far) for anything - dress, accessories, even groom's suits, bless her regardless of issues in her own life!

She got engaged to her partner of two years at the same time (almost two years ago now) as my fiancé and I did and we started to plan our weddings together. The week we were set to book the venues she found out her fiancé had been cheating on her for over a year and they broke up.

Even though she was absolutely devastated she picked herself back up and threw herself into planning my big day! I felt guilty to be going ahead with our wedding but she has re-assured me she wants us to have our day and I am so proud to have someone so strong and selfless standing up for me on our day. I don't think I could be as courageous as her and that's why I think she is the Perfect Bridesmaid. I hope one day she finds someone who will value her as much as I do!

Entry 7:

I would have to put my hands up and say my Perfect Bridesmaid is my sister Jennifer. Who could be better than her?

She was there to watch me as I grew up and be a friend when I need one. She is there when I am down and going through a tough time whether it is family matters or personal matter she always knows what to say to make realise there is a light at the end of the tunnel. She is the one I choose to go out with she always knows what I need be it dancing or chilling. As we are older now we are best friends and we are there for each other so I want to be there for her.

I want her to have this break as juggling my wedding problems along with her family of 5. I feel she deserves a break to be pampered.. It would be a little something for her to say thank you for just being there for me, I wouldn't have gotten this far with out you.

Entry 8:

I nominate my sister Denise, she is my bestest friend and most of all she's my sister.

She has always been my rock. We lost our only sister in 2005 and I was devasted - couldn't function - and she put her own grievance aside and made sure I got through it. She is always there for me, even when I had my first heart break and at the time was devasted but she helped me with my little boy while I was heartbroken.

But most of all two weeks ago she got the news of her husband of 18 months was having an affair on her with her best friend and I thought it was my time to look after her but she wouldn't have it. She kept a brave face and still helps me with my wedding plans, comes every where with me, constantly on the phone asking is there anything she can do, even though her own marriage is in crumbles she still is doing everything in her power to make sure that I have the bestest marriage ever. I tried not to talk about my wedding but she wouldn't have it.

Entry 9:

I wish to nominate my sister (and luckily for me) my best friend Marilyn for the price as the Perfect Bridesmaid.

At times life hasn't been easy and I have been so lucky to have Marilyn to help me, listen to me and laugh with me. When we were younger our brother died and shortly after our dad lost his fight to cancer and at times our family were all so consumed with grief that we did not have the strength to pick each other up and see a way forward. The only shining light in the family was Marilyn. She was and still is the quiet one. The one that gets on with the job at hand, building our mom back up and encouraging us to deal with our grief.

When I got engaged my sister was so genuine and happy for us even though her own long term relationship had broken up. She has been involved in every step of the planning process, looking up every detail with me from picking colours, dresses and often dropped everything she had on to be there for me when I became anxious, worried or in general a bridezilla!! She even went and ordered the unity candles we wanted as a suprise to celebrate our pre wedding anniversary!

I lost my job a week after we got engaged. Marilyn has stuck by me, supported me, supported my fiancé and once again went above the bounds of expectations to help us move on and enjoy our wedding planning.

I'm not sure how to articulate how much I love my sister. She really is my perfect bridesmaid and my best friend.

Entry 10:

I would like to nominate my sister and chief Bridesmaid Jessica.

The reason is that she is always there for me. She is a single parent and lost her partner to suicide 3 years ago, her life has never been easy and I feel so bad for her having to see her big sister so happy in a relationship and getting ready for her big day. She never shows her pain and gets on with any task she is asked to do. She will drop everything at a minute's notice and come to my aid -whether it is a dress fitting or just to pick hair accessories she is there!!

She is currently organising the hens and she is doing a super job. All she wants to do is make me happy and she is doing everything she can to make sure the wedding will go without a hitch. She is my only sister and I lover her dearly. I would love to give her this treat to say thanks for all she does..sometimes I do not always show it but I really do appreciate her being in my life and putting so much effort into support myself and my hubby to be...thank you.

Entry 11:

I'm the youngest girl in my family and I have two older sisters who I've chosen to be my bridesmaids. I love them both but for different reasons. My sister Janice is the oldest in the family and the one I would have always looked up to, hid clothes on and generally wanted to be her growing up. She would do anything, get you drunk when you need to, hold your hand when you need and dance with you even when noone else will. You will always have a laugh with Janice as no night out is a quite one.

My sister Sheila is my second oldest in the family and is really like a best friend to me. She is the one who set me up on a blind date with my future husband (who happens to be her partners brother). Both myself and Sheila have kids and it has definetly brought us closer. She is always there for me no matter what. I would go to her with all my problems and she will help me as best she can.

I love them both and don't think I'd be the person I am today without them and thats why they are my Perfect Bridesmaids.

Entry 12:

I would like to nominate my bridesmaid Ger for 'Perfect Bridesmaid'. No one deserves it more then she does! We met when I used to work for her many years ago and we got on SO well that we just had to become the best of friends.

In the past few years we've had the best of times and the wost in both our lives and have been there for each other through it all. She is the most organised person I know and has been amazing with helping with the planning and organising of everything. She's is so enthusiastic and gets so excited about everything that it helps me when I'm feeling stressed... plus she gets this hilarious high pitched voice when she's excited... if we won this prize I'm sure only dogs would be hear her exclamations of happiness :-)

In the last few months she has gone through more personal stress and strain then I've know anyone to take at once and yet she still manages to find it in her heart to be excited and happy about the wedding. I'm having two bridesmaids, I love them both but the other one is in Australia and won't be home until a week before the wedding so poor Ger is taking the whole lot on her self, including all the hen night stuff. What a trouper!!!

If I had the money I'd be doing something like this for her my self but I just can't so winning this would allow us to have the best craic and most relaxing time that a true and wonderful friend like her really deserves.

Entry 13:

I would like to nominate my sister Fiona as the Perfect Bridesmaid (although my sister Niamh, also a bridesmaid, is fabulous too!!)

We lost our Mom to cancer this February and since then everything seems pointless. I found it difficult to think about venues or the church but last May Fiona gave me the push I needed to begin organizing our wedding. She works, has 5 children under 4, (a beautiful boy, TRIPLETS and then the surprise baby number 5!!!). She is going through the same heart ache as we all are and yet she finds the time to ring and see how our plans are going, gives me ideas as to what I should be doing and is always encouraging me to begin booking!!!

She has brought me to numerous bridal shops to help me find 'the perfect dress' and always reminds me that this is what mom would want and that she would be very proud of us all.

I think she is the perfect bridesmaid because everyday she helps me become excited about my wedding again.

Entry 14:

The Perfect Bridesmaid to me is my friend Karina! She took on the responsibility while undergoing her masters and on finishing her course had to write her Thesis. Instead of finishing her qualifications she put all her time into my hen and left her Thesis (to be finished two weeks after the hen). When I say she put all her time into it, I mean every day she would be making phone calls and finding childhood pictures of me from my family to make a special book as a souvenir and having custom made uniforms made. She even planned for my friend in London to come over!

On the weekend, she began by taking me to a Michelin star restaurant, paid for the bill, paid for two nights accommodation, my dinner on the Saturday night too AND hired a fireman stripper all with her own money - and the girl spent all her savings for her new car because now she only works 12 hours a week. A few weeks later, she drove my mum from Galway to Maynooth for the menu tasting, spending another fortune on petrol and tolls, money she just didn’t have and she wouldn’t hear of me reimbursing her and now I am riddled with guilt.

Please let Karina win this, so I can repay her for her kindness!

Entry 15:

Hi, I nominate my chief bridesmaid Roisin as the Perfect Bridesmaid. She is my sister and my best friend. With only a year between us we grew up together with the same group of friends.. When I got engaged there was no doubt that she would be my chief bridesmaid.

She is currently pregnant with her first baby and due in 10 days time! She's exhausted and uncomfortable but yet never fails to show excitement when I talk about my big day. She's buying more wedding mags than I am!

Dress shopping is put on hold until the new year due to her waistline at the moment!! But that gives us something to look forward to after xmas as Jan is always a depressing month! And there might be sales then too which will help us stick to our modest budget!

A day in a spa would be a wonderful way to say thank you for being a great bridesmaid and a way to help spoil her after having my niece or nephew!! :-)

Entry 16:

My Perfect Bridesmaid has to be my best friend Gillian.I've known her for the last 14 years, after I met her in first year in school. She was asked after my original bridesmaid failed to step up to the mark and Gill came on board straight away and saved the day. She has been a great support when the organisation side of things has become too much and she has smoothed things out and helped me get my head sorted!

She gives me her honest opinion even though she knows it might be what I don't want to hear. She's been to a fair few weddings so she knows what she is talking about and her thoughts and ideas are greatly appreciated.

I would love to win this prize as I feel it would be a great way for me to repay her for all her help and support not only through all the wedding plans but for everytime that she has helped me with throughout the years.
Claire
Mrs2be.ie Admin

Re: Perfect Bridesmaid competition

Postby Claire » Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:47 pm

The Perfect Bridesmaid competition is now open to a Public Vote by all registered missies. Voting will take place from Monday 25th until 6pm Sunday 31st October 2010, when we will announce the winner.

Best of luck to all entries.

By the way, this thread is open for replies, so if you'd like to leave a comment on any of the entries, feel free!
Claire
Mrs2be.ie Admin

Postby Claire » Sun Oct 31, 2010 7:13 pm

As you can see the winner has a bridesmaid called Ciara :D

So you’re all wondering who the winner is?

It’s……

marcs-girl! :bounce :bounce :bounce

Well done marcs-girl, congratulations. We hope you and your Perfect Bridesmaid Ciara have a fantastic pampering session at the Seoid Spa at Dunboyne Castle!
Claire
Mrs2be.ie Admin

Postby Marcs-Mrs » Sun Oct 31, 2010 7:32 pm

Super super happy & excited!!!! Im over the moon for my sister!!!

Thanks a million to everyone who voted for her!
"Choose your lifes mate carefully....from them can come 90% of your happiness or misery!"

Marcs-Mrs
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 77 times

Postby MrsEL10 » Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:22 pm

Well done marcs girl

Delighted for you and your sister :bounce
MrsEL10
Most Rational & Seasoned Missie 2011

Have thanks: 444 times

Postby singingbride » Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:33 pm

Congratulations marcs girl! we were neck and neck for a while (My bridesmaid is Ger) I hope you have an fantastic time!!!!!!!!!!
x

singingbride
Golden Missie

Have thanks: 25 times

Postby Happily Married » Mon Nov 01, 2010 1:46 pm

Congrats marcs girl!! Delighted for ye :D
Happily Married
Most Inspiring Missie 2011

Have thanks: 191 times

Return to Mrs2Be.ie Stuff