Are parents helping with costs?

General wedding discussion, wedding tips and ideas. Start here if newly engaged and need to post questions to the other Missies.

Are parents helping with costs?

Postby muckypup » Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:23 am

im worrying so much about the cost of things and im going home to uk next week to chat about things to my parents who helped my sister with a few grand but nowhere near enough to cover the cost of her wedding. her husbands parents paid for everything, im just worried we wont be able to get enough money together to pay for things. dp father is quite well off but also very traditional and i would imagine he sees the financial responsibility lays with the father of the bride.(he has no daughters himself)

just curious how others are working things ? :dizzy

:xmas1 :xmas1 :xmas1
muckypup
Winner of 5 Missie Awards 2011

Have thanks: 108 times
Other Half: Mr Muckypup

Re: Are parents helping with costs?

Postby Sparkels » Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:29 am

We are covering all costs ourselves. We originally thought about 10k to cover the wedding exc flights. Although its looking like it going to come to about 15k. Im working my butt off as is my hubby but its looking like we are going to need to take out a loan to cover our costs. Not that I mind, but its something we hoped we wouldn't have to do. We have taken down the cost of our wedding by having a marquee wedding and doing a buffet style meal. How about cutting your costs by avoiding the hotel location. Thats the area that seems to cost the most.
Sparkels
Newbie Missie

Have thanks: 0 time

Postby muckypup » Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:38 am

ah no my wedding is very low key as it is and we're working with a low budget anyway, but having just bought a new house in december and having our 2nd baby we have no savings left so will need to start from scratch completely. :(

muckypup

Postby Sparkels » Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:54 am

Things like having a DJ and no band cuts costs. Not doing favours. DIY-ing the invites, have your wedding mid-week. Only have 1 bridesmaid and 1 best man. Borrow cars. Have a family member make your cake. How much are u budgeting for your wedding?
Sparkels
Newbie Missie

Postby JennieMcB » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:03 am

my dad is covering some of the cost for the reception for us as a gift and my mum (they're divorced) is paying for the cake, making the Guest book & ring pillow and haggling with all the suppliers for me to keep the costs as low as possible. she went in to easons yesterday to buy a basic guest book so she could cover it in the same fabric as the ring pillow and found one that was 18.99 but had some smudges on the cover so she said this to the manager and got it for 1.99!!!! and it doesnt matter cos she covered it in fabric anyway. she showed it to me last night and its fab!! she's worth her wait in gold for all the savings she's making us. she haggled with the hotel and got about 35% off the original price and with a load a extras thrown in. there's no way we could have afforded the wedding we're having without all the tips and help she's giving us. she knows loads of ppl that are supplying things for the wedding like wine & champers at really good prices too. so in actual fact even though she's not giving us much actual cash, she is saving us thousands!!! I must find a good way to thank her on the day : )
JennieMcB
Newbie Missie

Postby Cheeky Chick » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:21 am

My parents paid for the band, dj and church music. Our bestman and bridesmaid (they are married) paid for the hairdresser and the mens shaves. Other than that we paid for everything ourselves. You could ask for people to pay for something instead of giving you a wedding gift.

Our budget went out the window to be honest but we managed. Don't be worrying too much about the cost, it will all come together in the end.

Cheeky Chick
Addicted Missie

Have thanks: 27 times

Postby muckypup » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:24 am

no way ya serious? 1.99 jaysus thats brilliant does she want to adopt me as a daughter too hee hee! we'll be doing all the planning & everything ourselves i reckon as my family live in the uk so would be hard for them to do anything from there.

with regard to cake my sister has offered to get me my cake as a wedding gift, so thats one thing off my mind :D

muckypup

Postby Cheekymrs10 » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:41 am

we are quite lucky. H2b parents gave us a nice cash gift when we booked the wedding and his granny also gave us money. My mum has given us the money to pay our second deposit. So we are really delighted. Also MIL is doing our cake
Cheekymrs10
Mighty Missie

Have thanks: 260 times

Postby MrsM10 » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:51 am

We are covering the cost of everything ourselves.
My parents are going to contribute some money towards my dress but don't think it will cover the whole things. H2b's parents have us an early wedding present towards getting our garden done this summer but in terms of paying for the wedding it is all us.
MrsM10
Goddess Missie

Have thanks: 57 times

Postby bri2be » Tue Aug 17, 2010 12:18 pm

we are paying ourselves.
bri2be
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 30 times

Postby 086mummybear » Tue Aug 17, 2010 12:41 pm

We got no financial help from my parents, but I wouldn't have expected it anyway as they aren't doing very well money-wise. Hubby's mum helped us out quite a bit with buying one or two small things, but she also gave us a loan of 3k for our reception which we are paying back. That was a huge help. Overall though we were just very lucky because everything like band/dj, photographer, car, cake was offered to us as wedding gifts from talented family members and friends!
Veteran Missie and mum of two little ones. Love my hubby, the most awesome understanding guy, couldn't do this thing called life without him. :D
086mummybear
Queen Missie

Have thanks: 121 times

Postby muckypup » Tue Aug 17, 2010 12:51 pm

oh wow 086mummybear that was lucky hun. i dont expect it either but i do have a big hang up on the etiquette of a wedding like with the invites for example its meant to be the brides parents request the company of etc ya know what i mean?

muckypup

Postby JennieMcB » Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:08 pm

We're just doing a bride & groom request your presence etc as my parents are divorced and H2B parents are not really involved in the wedding so why create complications on the invites lol?
JennieMcB
Newbie Missie

Postby Cheekymrs10 » Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:10 pm

i put on mine

Together with their parents A&A invite .........

Its whatever you want yourself. Personally i didnt want to put 1 set on them as they are both helping us.
Cheekymrs10
Mighty Missie

Have thanks: 260 times

Postby muckypup » Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:10 pm

lol i like the sounds of that, might even put my 2 babas names on the invites....

A & L request the blah blah - think that might be sweet or tacky do ya think?
Last edited by muckypup on Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

muckypup

Next

Return to General Wedding Discussion