Fake engagement Ring

General wedding discussion, wedding tips and ideas. Start here if newly engaged and need to post questions to the other Missies.

Fake engagement Ring

Postby tandybo » Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:47 pm

My friend just got engaged and her H2B brought her off to pick her ring. She said to me that she knew he was not in any financial situation to spend a fortune so she settled for a fake. Now she loves it and in fairness it is fab but she knows that people will know its fake....(us girls always give it a proper inspection when we look at it). I feel so sorry for her and now she says its takin the buzz out of everything.....
Is he been tight for lettin her pick a cheap one??? I really dont know what to sya to her
tandybo
Newbie Missie

Have thanks: 2 times

Re: Fake engagement Ring

Postby Soph11 » Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:01 pm

Maybe he genuinelly believed she loved it......

For this post, Soph11 was thanked by:
tandybo
Soph11
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 30 times

Postby Hailey » Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:02 pm

My ring wasn't expensive and tbh i dnt think any of my friend knw its a cheapy!!

Hailey
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 169 times

Postby tandybo » Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:12 pm

Thats what I was sayin to her...mine is not exactly mad expensive but I guess she is just listenin to too many peple on what is the 'expected' price to pay. Cant help but feel sorry for her cos I know she would of loved a 'BIG ROCK'
tandybo
Newbie Missie

Postby Hailey » Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:13 pm

tandybo wrote:Thats what I was sayin to her...mine is not exactly mad expensive but I guess she is just listenin to too many peple on what is the 'expected' price to pay. Cant help but feel sorry for her cos I know she would of loved a 'BIG ROCK'

Wudnt we all :lol: :lol: im def goina get enuf bling in wedding band and eternity ring to make up 4 it :lol: :lol:

Hailey
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 169 times

Postby HappyMissus » Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:29 pm

Nobody needs to know it's a fake unless she tells them. And if someone is rude enough to ask is it real, or to say 'that's not real' then a smack in the face often sorts out that problem!

If she loves the ring, that's all that matters. Maybe in the future they might be better off financially and can get a bigger/real ring then. Or she might get a blingy wedding ring.

She needs to ask herself would she rather have this ring and know her h2b could afford it comfortably with no debt - or would she rather a huge rock and have her h2b unable to sleep at night worrying how he was going to pay for it.

She knows the right answer.
HappyMissus
Newbie Missie

Have thanks: 0 time

Postby Soph11 » Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:29 pm

At the end of the day, yes the ring is important but its all about the commitment he has made to her. Yes that sounds soppy but its true.

For this post, Soph11 was thanked by:
tandybo
Soph11
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 30 times

Postby sadlier86 » Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:05 pm

Hi ya, my h2b proposed to me with a 52.99 argos ring and it means the world to me ; ) i was going on holidays and he wanted to propose before i left! When i got home my real ring was waiting for me! In the meantime ive lost my real ring, im now back wearing my argos ring and although i sooooooooo miss my ring i dont think anyone notices and the sentimental value attached means the world to me so i would honestly tell your friend not to worry!!
sadlier86
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 34 times

Postby Mysterious » Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:18 pm

i wud not b upset by this i got a fake ring at d start to and i was supposed to get 1 after xmas but then i got a second hand one but it turned out it was someone elses that i wanst happy bout so its now getting melted down to make a new one so i wudnt care if its a fake ring if i was her coz she can always get a new one again later on in d future or melt d fake one or get a second hand one from someone she didnt kno
Mysterious
Newbie Missie

Postby MrsTK2B » Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:37 pm

:iagree At the end of the day, it just a piece of jewelery. It's what it symbolizes that is important. If he cannot afford to buy a big fancy ring its better he bought a cheaper one than got into debt or lied to her and told her he spent a fortune. Though if he had the cash to spare and still bought a fake ring I'd be annoyed in her shoes. Hopefully things will improve for them in time and she will get a lovely wedding ring.

My mother never got an engagement ring and got the cheapest wedding ring in the shop as they were broke at the time. 32 years later they are still very happily married. My father occasionally suggests buying her a ring now he can afford it but she has no interest. Just goes to show the price of the ring has nothing to do with the success of the marriage!
MrsTK2B
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 48 times

Postby cc2011 » Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:59 pm

:happywave
Last edited by cc2011 on Wed Nov 16, 2011 10:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cc2011
Junior Missie

Have thanks: 6 times

Postby MrsTK2B » Sat Nov 12, 2011 12:16 am

cc2011 - I'd say you're right and most girls would love an expensive ring. I know I adore mine, though I'm slightly embarrassed that it cost about as much as my (quite old) car! I was just lucky that when we got engaged there was some cash to spare. But for most people at the moment money is a problem and I think its terrible that this girl is worried about what people will think of her ring. She may not be comfortable saying to people "yes, this ring is fake, I really wanted something else but we couldn't afford it" That might be ok with close family and friends but not so much with people you barely know who still ask about the ring. In the grand scheme of things its not really that important to have a fancy ring and nobody should have to feel ashamed about it.
MrsTK2B
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 48 times

Postby cc2011 » Sat Nov 12, 2011 12:23 am

:slamdunk
Last edited by cc2011 on Wed Nov 16, 2011 10:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cc2011
Junior Missie

Have thanks: 6 times

Postby sam-4-bob » Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:07 am

Its up to each person and their finacial situation. At the time we got engaged H2B was laid off but he had been killing himself saving for months so I could get the ring I wanted. I felt so lucky and yet guilty about spending so much on a ring - not that it was thousands but it was alot for us!!! I dont usually wear it to work because the first time I did I came home and had to pick playdough out of it!

My grandad was not able to afford an engagement ring for my nanny (50+yrs ago) and she said it never bothered her, but a few christmas's ago he went and bought her one and It was so lovely , the two of them crying etc. Back to the point who cares if its a fake , he did the best he could do and its what is symbolises. I personally wouldnt notice if a ring was expensive or not ! Maybe closer to the wedding he could buy her a new bridal ring set if she really isnt happy ??
sam-4-bob
Addicted Missie

Have thanks: 82 times

Postby Loveknowsnodistance » Sat Nov 12, 2011 4:27 pm

What do you mean by fake ring?

I didn't get my ring yet, I will get it this december/january. and I told H2B that if he doesnt have the money for one of the rings I want (gave him a list with 5 different ones), He can give me the 6th on the list. a sterling silver claddagh ring, to be a placeholder ring/provisory ring, until he can get me one of the ones I want. them we can resize the silver claddagh ring so i can wear it on another finger (would want it on the finger that is on the right side of the middle one, if we are talking about left hand, not on the fring finger), so I would still wear the one he proposed with everyday, because I do love the design.

And I wont mind at all people knowing it is cheap (30 euros!!) or anything, what will matter is me liking the ring, and being H2B that gave it to me. and I know that if he cant now, he will give me the ring I want someday, and I would be happy enough with the claddagh sterling silver as a placeholder. :halloween
Loveknowsnodistance
Newbie Missie

Have thanks: 1 time

Next

Return to General Wedding Discussion