Girls im so upset

General wedding discussion, wedding tips and ideas. Start here if newly engaged and need to post questions to the other Missies.

Girls im so upset

Postby muckypup » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:01 pm

just back from the hotel and while i came out on cloud nine completely happy with my meeting and achievements with the wedding planner dp has put a complete downer on it. Basically said i shouldnt have agreed to anything as we might get a better price elsewhere - I DOUBT IT!!!!

Sit Down Meal

35 Adults x €23 per head = €805
8 children x €7 per head = €56
TOTAL = €861

Evening Buffet

Probably be about 75 people max
said to cater for 60

for €6.50 per head she was giving sandwiches, goujons and cocktail sausages. i wanted a bit more selction so i did the sums of 60 people x €6.50 per head = €390

I simply said what if we round it up to €400 what will that get me?
we now have selection of sandwiches, goujons and cocktail sausages, chicken wings and a selection of canápes

So meal €861 + evening buffet €400 = €1261 rounded down to €1260 FOR EVERYTHING and she threw in a free bridal suite for me and dp to stay the night. :clapper

he is pulling a face at that!!!! MEN!!!!!! :banghead
Last edited by muckypup on Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

:xmas1 :xmas1 :xmas1
muckypup
Winner of 5 Missie Awards 2011

Have thanks: 108 times
Other Half: Mr Muckypup

Re: Girls im so upset

Postby HereWeGo » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:05 pm

OMG muckypup, that is absolutely fantastic! That's a brilliant brilliant deal and you would be really hard pushed to get as good anywhere else.
Without meaning to be offensive here, but was H2B with you when you agreed to this? If so, why didn't he say anything? Or if he wasn't with you, why wasn't he? Like, if he was happy for you to go on your own then he should be happy with the decision made! MEN is right!!!! Don't mind him pet x :hug2
Tell him to go do some research himself and find a better deal (if he can!!! NOT!)

HereWeGo
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 18 times

Postby tringlexxx » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:08 pm

Mucky tell your dp he's not going to get a better deal than that.
I'm thinking of going to loughrea for my wedding now :lol:

Our's is costing 7,873.00 :o

That's just for the meal, wine and evening reception.

Oh, starting to think I'm a bit of an eejit now!! :roll:

Seriously, I will back you up, you will not get it cheaper than that!! :iagree

Mammy to the two most gorgeous little boys in the world :-)

20/09/04 & 30/11/09

For this post, tringlexxx was thanked by:
muckypup
tringlexxx
Junior Missie

Have thanks: 3 times
Other Half: Diarmaid

Postby muckypup » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:09 pm

He works in Dublin and we live in Galway. so the only time he could have gone is the weekend but he knew i was going today because i told him i needed the hotel to fill in some forms for the registrar and he said ok. to me that was a green light, now he is saying we should have checked out the other hotel the other side of town. tbh this is a brand new hotel and spa which won Best New Hotel 2009 at the National Hospitality Awards whereas the other hotel is old and dated and imo needs a refurb. its much more expensive as well. i dunno he just always puts a downer on things and gave out to me cos i paid the deposit today, she only wanted €100 like not like it broke the bank ya know.

ah hes put me in terrible form now!

muckypup

Postby muckypup » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:11 pm

Tringle thanks hun x we can bring our own wine, no corkage fee either.

muckypup

Postby HereWeGo » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:13 pm

Ah babe x x That's terrible. You're so excited and he's just dished it all and broken that lovely fab feeling, especially after you with such a great deal and hotel sounds totally fab so why would ye need to go suss out another hotel that is dearer and not in as good nic if happy with the deal you're getting there?
Do you think that maybe he feels a bit left out and would have liked to have gone with you to the hotel at the weekend say?
Also €100 deposit????? That's just incredible!!!! - We had to pay €3000 deposit and the reception, including drinks, and afters cost us a little over €6000! 98 adults, 4 kids and covering 80 people for afters food.
That hotel sounds too good to be true, you really have gotten a GREAT deal babe!! Fair play to you!! I think I might have to have a weekend away in Loughrea! What kind of menu are they offering for that, out of interest.... Oh and the no corkage fee! That's amazing!!! Unheard of!
Last edited by HereWeGo on Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.

For this post, HereWeGo was thanked by:
muckypup
HereWeGo
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 18 times

Postby 086mummybear » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:14 pm

That deal is very similar to what mine was hun, and I can guarantee you wont find any better than that! :D It's brilliant, in fact, yours is 2euro per head cheaper than mine was!! The only thing I would say is to try and get a glass of wine per person for the main course thrown in with that, and a bar extention if possible! But seriously, there's no way you're gonna find it cheaper than that, so maybe you need to show your h2b some quotes from other hotels to prove the price that most wedding meals cost!!! :lol: A normal price per head is around 30 to 70 per person these days... you have a bloody bargain pet! :D
Veteran Missie and mum of two little ones. Love my hubby, the most awesome understanding guy, couldn't do this thing called life without him. :D

For this post, 086mummybear was thanked by:
muckypup
086mummybear
Queen Missie

Have thanks: 121 times

Postby muckypup » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:26 pm

Thanks girlies :cry: i'll try not to get too down about it. just annoyed that he is giving out over €100 deposit aswell like. We can bring as much wine as we like to the hotel so i think a trip to Newry Asda will be on the cards and their no corkage fee either. with regards to the bar extension she said it will stay open til 2/2.30 and then sure we have the residents bar. :)

i personally feel i did a great job getting such a good deal but he has made all my efforts seem worthless, he is useless at organising things so i take charge most of the time and they always pay off he just makes me feel so crappy sometimes, like why do i bother ya know?! :roll:

muckypup

Postby Mrs Toot » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:30 pm

Thats a fantastic deal! men they just have no idea do they...H2B was the same at the start. I got quotes from a few hotels and put them in front of him and said there you go darlin! Thats bloody brilliant hun, you did good!
Mrs Toot
Queen Missie

Have thanks: 173 times
Other Half: Mr Toot

Postby tringlexxx » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:31 pm

No corkage fee?? ;) that's amaaaazing! :o

Ok I am printing this out and bringing it to our wedding coordinator :furious .
I've to hand over a grand on friday....but might check out loughrea first...seriously!! :driving

I'm getting soo stressed out :crazy about costs, at least you seem to have it worked out mucky :clapper

need to sit down and have a proper chat with my darling fiance methinks :embrace

20/09/04 & 30/11/09
tringlexxx
Junior Missie

Postby muckypup » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:32 pm

Toot wrote:Thats a fantastic deal! men they just have no idea do they...H2B was the same at the start. I got quotes from a few hotels and put them in front of him and said there you go darlin! Thats bloody brilliant hun, you did good!

Thanks for that chick, oh wow toot just seen on your ticker only 7 days to go!!! you must be so excited!!!! :bounce

muckypup

Postby tringlexxx » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:32 pm

mucky tell your dp that usually a bar extension costs about 500 euro...and you must be getting that free too if your bar is open until 2/2.30am!!!!!!

20/09/04 & 30/11/09
tringlexxx
Junior Missie

Postby Cleo » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:35 pm

Oh that is a brilliant deal. Tell himself if he thinks he can do better to go right ahead! Men god they really have no clue have they?
Cleo
Newbie Missie

Have thanks: 0 time

Postby Mrs Toot » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:37 pm

muckypup wrote:Thanks for that chick, oh wow toot just seen on your ticker only 7 days to go!!! you must be so excited!!!! :bounce

Im not too bad! Working till thurs so am trying to contain myself till then!! :lol: Can't believe it's so close now :yikes2
Mrs Toot
Queen Missie

Have thanks: 173 times
Other Half: Mr Toot

Postby Cheekymrs10 » Tue Aug 10, 2010 6:28 pm

jesus thats a great deal you got and with free corkage. My corkage alone will cost €360+. Plus only a €100 deposit. Thats deadly. Most places would be €1000. You have saved loads with bar ext free and your evening supper deal. Well done :clapper

Men always think they can do better with these things. My OH was the same but when he heard what others were paying thats soon shut him up. :twisted:

Dont let it get u down hun. If i were u id have a wee drink and be pretty pleased with myself on your deal..

For this post, Cheekymrs10 was thanked by:
muckypup
Cheekymrs10
Mighty Missie

Have thanks: 260 times

Next

Return to General Wedding Discussion