Having a Bad Day

General wedding discussion, wedding tips and ideas. Start here if newly engaged and need to post questions to the other Missies.

Having a Bad Day

Postby TanyaBranning » Mon Dec 05, 2011 2:00 pm

Oh god, I knew it would happen. I have been crying on and off since 9.30am this morning. I had my bridal shower on the weekend, and even though I can't stand my inlaws to be, I still invited them. I have been hearing stories all morning about how rude and offensive they were to my family and friends. If I'd know about this the other night I'd have asked them to leave. They were dirty looking my family, sitting next to them and speaking behind their hands about them. They were rude to my mother about the area where her house is and very patronising. The ridiculed all the presents I received labelling them tacky and tasteless. Told one of my cousins who isn't long after a baby she'd be able to see more if she moved her fat ass. My cousin was standing with her back to a wall!!!! And told me I was showing my true colours by sitting them in a corner!!!!!! They were sitting with the rest of my family and friends we were all in ONE room!!! They couldn't see enough from where they were sitting though. :totallyfurious

Our RSVP reply date is long gone been trying to chase people up today. Three couples declined, and I don't think they'd have let us know at all, only we rang them. I'm a bit peed off about it, because two of the couples knew from day one they wouldn't be going as they have other stuff on that day. And I'm annoyed because there was a couple of other people I'd have loved to have invited and with 3 weeks to go I can't just invite them now without looking bad.

I've had an argument with my mother this morning. She has been fantastic and hasn't butted her nose in once. I wanted to invite girls on the back of the declines this morning. Mainly because they came away to the UK on my hen, and I felt bad they hadn’t full day invites. She’s said I can’t do it now, as one is a cousin and I will offend the other cousins who aren’t going. I argued that she came away and she said ‘Oh she only went cos for herself, not you’. Thanks Mam!!! :( I have no idea why I’m running it by her we are paying for everything, but she said ‘I’ll leave it up to you, I’m not interfering but you are going to cause a lot of trouble in MY family if you do it, so I don’t want you to but your choice’ and hung up on me.

So now I’m bawling again, I am just sick of it, meant to be enjoying this time, but no, I don’t even want it to happen now.

I am dreading my actual wedding day as my inlaws are so horrible. There was 4 of them came to the party and if they were acting like that in my mothers house, what will they be acting like in a hotel when they have the back up of all their family to let them be as obnoxious as they want!

I want to go home and pull the duve over my head :crybaby
TanyaBranning
Golden Missie

Have thanks: 43 times

Re: Having a Bad Day

Postby puddy2shoes » Mon Dec 05, 2011 3:04 pm

Hun-u poor thing :hug3 :hug3 :hug3 :hug3

Ive read a few of ur posts bout your h2bs family and to b honest-ive never heard of a group of people need a series of bitch-slaps as much as them!!!!! the feckin cheek of them :totallyfurious -and in ur mams house. i really just goes to show, u either have class or you dont and they obviously dont. on the upside ur h2b must be an amazing man and u must love him to pieces if u r willing to put up with that shit!!!!

and the ting with ur mam over asking your cousin might not have bothered you as much if all this stuff hadnt happened with the in-laws. i no its easier said than done-especially if ur a control freak like me-but some things u cant control, if ur in-laws are goin2bitch and moan and pass comments behid you back they will do it regardless on anything u do.best to sit them all together and away from ur family and hopefully they will just mope in a corner and not upset any of ur other guests. have u mentioned wat went on to ur h2b?
puddy2shoes
Senior Missie

Have thanks: 28 times

Postby letmeeatcake » Mon Dec 05, 2011 3:16 pm

This is not something you need so close to the wedding. i have started just ignoring people who are telling me what to do and things they don't like. My mum rang me up in a big tizzy the other day because a wedding she was at had champagne at the reception and Guinness on tap for the men, and she thought we would look stupid if we didn't have something similar! :roll: I told her where to go with her Guinness on tap... :verymad

I know it is difficult, but you need to just completely ignore everybody and not let them get to you. It is too close to the big day to be worrying about other people being b*tchy. Let them do what they want, but if it is seriously inconveniencing you, then you need to tell them to back off in a firm, but not rude way. It is the only thing that you can do at this point. Good luck with them. They sound like hell. :hug1
letmeeatcake
Goddess Missie

Have thanks: 118 times

Postby augustbride2012 » Mon Dec 05, 2011 3:40 pm

Your mam is probably just reacting to the bad vibes from the inlaws and you defintely are. You are on edge, so no offense would have been easy to rub you up the wrong way. Its not surprising after that behaviour.
You ARE going to have that wedding but you will have the support of your Husband then and he will be able help you ignore them. You know that they are problem and that's half the battle, you know that you are in the right and sometimes that's enough to save your sanity.

Have a good cry, maybe blow the diet today and tomorrow pick yourself up and start again. I've read a few of your posts and you have been through worse with these people and you can weather this storm. Chin up, we're here to support you and most importantly your H2B is there for you too. Oh and maybe consider listening to you Mam on the guestlist, its been her only imput and she might be sorta of right.
augustbride2012
Major Missie

Have thanks: 45 times

Postby Hailey » Mon Dec 05, 2011 3:46 pm

:hug3 :hug3 :hug3 :hug3 :hug3 :hug3 U poor thing they sound awful i ope for u n h2b sake they grow up before ye'r big day :boxing :rapidfire

Hailey
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 169 times

Postby 2excited » Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:35 pm

OMG the cows sorry actually cows would not behave like that! The cheek of them. All I can say is chin up and ignore the lot of them you better than that and no way let them put a damper on your big day!
They sound very jealous...........
As for your mam she prob just venting after all that you invite who you like!!!
2excited
Junior Missie

Have thanks: 5 times

Postby fionab1385 » Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:40 pm

Aw I am so sorry to hear you are having such a shite day :hug3 :hug3 :hug3 :hug3 . I have learnt just to ignore other people, family especially, as they all are full of bloody opinions and not one of them a bit helpful ! Try to let it go over your head, I know it's hard. Just remember this is a day you have waited for, you are marrying the man you kissed all the frogs to find, it's about you and him and let the in laws and outlaws go f**k themselves and let them bother someone else!
fionab1385
Goddess Missie

Have thanks: 95 times

Postby TanyaBranning » Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:57 pm

Hi Guys, thanks for the hugs and kind words, always helps to blow off steam! :clapper

My h2b's cousin rang him this morning to say he and his wife would be coming and could I book a family room as they're coming from up the country and bringing their newborn. I could hardly say no, as she's more than likely feeding him, and he's too little to be left. On ending the call he said "That's grand so, and a high chair will do for our 3 year old, he won't take up any space at the table". Wtf????? Seriously how hard is it to read "Mary & Joe" on the invite and know that your kids aren't invited?? :totallyfurious Everybody else had to arrange sitters for the day. H2b rang back and said it's fine for the baby but we can't have the 3 year old, as we will be offending everybody else whose kids weren't invited. I felt bad and said what to hell, let them bring the 3 year old, I shouldn't have but I did. So I went and booked them a room, and h2b rang and said they are all welcome to come, and he said "Oh we're not coming now" :frown

Well I decided I probably was a bit over sensitive this morning when I spoke to my mam, maybe best to leave sleeping dogs lie with the extra invites. She's okay now again, being a bit distant but she'll get over it. I can't dwell on it. I'm going shopping with h2b after work, and I'm going home via McDonalds and getting myself a Big Mac, Fries and McFlurry and taking it to bed with me cos I just feel like slobbing out :yeah

On the plus side I just finalised my seating plan and hope to god hotel let me have a kids table now as I'm less a table that we had accounted for. This seating plan is much better than my original, and h2b's uncle has droppped off a present for us. So can't wait to go home!!!!!!
TanyaBranning
Golden Missie

Postby Munstermaid » Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:26 pm

:hug3 :hug3 :hug3 Lots of hugs for you honey. It's true that the closer the date comes the more shit gets thrown at you. Keep the head. It'll all work out in the end. You'll have a fabulous day and they'll all still be badmannered begrudgers. Keep smiling...you never realise how much that can annoy people!!! :D :D
Munstermaid
Junior Missie

Have thanks: 7 times

Postby TGR » Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:59 pm

:hug3

Chin up and don't let the bad vibes from your in-laws affect you or your wedding day. They sound like a positively crazy, awful bunch and they obviously don't deserve someone as lovely and accommodating as you. At this point all you can do is basically ignore them and just focus on what's important to you- marrying the man you love.
TGR
Regular Missie

Have thanks: 13 times

Postby TanyaBranning » Tue Dec 06, 2011 1:37 pm

Am totally ignoring h2b's family! They showed their true colours on Friday night, and I got my revenge doing the table plan yesterday :highfive

Not ONE of them has been any help or support to him, and no parents, so he could do with it.

Stroppy BM (his niece) - thank god for the two on my side
AWOL/Non replying Best Man (his nephew)
Demanding sisters
Inviting their not invited kids extended family!
TanyaBranning
Golden Missie

Postby azriel » Tue Dec 06, 2011 2:53 pm

oh love, am actually raging for you! And the best thing ( and hardest thing ) is not to let em rise you. At least you have your family and your h2b. Feck em- seat em waaaaaaaaaaaay away from you and enjoy your day. As my mother says,"be civil and strange! "
Totally treat yourseld to a mcdonalds and a chill out evening hun :bath
azriel
Addicted Missie

Have thanks: 70 times

Return to General Wedding Discussion