RSVP Rant

General wedding discussion, wedding tips and ideas. Start here if newly engaged and need to post questions to the other Missies.

RSVP Rant

Postby TanyaBranning » Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:19 pm

Okay, I knew before the invites went out that not everybody would send their RSVP card that I made and provided back. I have probably about 30ish left to get back as we approach the 'closing date'......that makes it sound like a competition. :lol:

My dad's sister RSVP'd by telephone, as did some friends of ours, as both men wrote 'lotsa drink' for the dietary requirement and the girls were too embarressed to send them back :mrgreen: They didn't see the others that came the same way :lol:

A good portion of my h2b's immediate family have not replied. I find this slightly annoying, because I take it for granted his brothers and sisters won't be missing it. But their children we never see, and they have partners, and I know 2 of them are in jobs where they could very well be working that night. I suppose if they weren't coming they'd have said. But then my dad's brother won't be coming and he never says either :roll: I just know with h2b's family they are proving a point that they are too important guests to rsvp. :wtf Edited to say: we sent one invite to his sisters family, she rsvp'd for herself and never mentioned the other 3. One is coming, 2 aren't. But we were supposed to be mind readers :lol:

Just think it's rude when an rsvp card, e.mail address, landline and mobile number is provided and they can't be bothered with either. I'm updating a spreadsheet with each RSVP that arrives. As well as being a good way to keep track of numbers, it also allows me to know who is and isn't coming for doing the table plan.
TanyaBranning
Golden Missie

Have thanks: 43 times

Re: RSVP Rant

Postby muckypup » Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:51 pm

I think everyone has this same problem hun - we all know its proper etiquette to send an RSVP back but sure i dont know why others think it doesnt apply to them - just rude imo! :banghead

:xmas1 :xmas1 :xmas1
muckypup
Winner of 5 Missie Awards 2011

Have thanks: 108 times
Other Half: Mr Muckypup

Postby TanyaBranning » Tue Nov 08, 2011 3:11 pm

muckypup wrote:I think everyone has this same problem hun - we all know its proper etiquette to send an RSVP back but sure i dont know why others think it doesnt apply to them - just rude imo! :banghead

Yes, I was fully prepared for it, as I know it happens everybody. One of my h2b's immediate family told us a long time ago "I won't be sending back that silly little rsvp thingy, you should know I'm coming". Before I could help myself I had blurted out "That will little rsvp thingy is to help me keep track of numbers and help with a table plan so you will". She did send it back! :lol:
TanyaBranning
Golden Missie

Postby caroline_A2 » Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:14 pm

oh poor you. im including a note with mine that if we havent recieved your rsvp by whatever our date is that its assumed you will not be joining us on our day and im still trying to figure out a nice way to put and u will not be accommodated at the dinner table should u arrive up.
i refuse to chase people.
good luck getting the rest of them back i hope u do :)
caroline_A2
Major Missie

Postby TanyaBranning » Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:21 pm

caroline_A2 wrote:oh poor you. im including a note with mine that if we havent recieved your rsvp by whatever our date is that its assumed you will not be joining us on our day and im still trying to figure out a nice way to put and u will not be accommodated at the dinner table should u arrive up.
i refuse to chase people.
good luck getting the rest of them back i hope u do :)

As much as I wish I could say that, I wouldn't dare, because I know if I got that in a note with an invite I'd be astonished :lol: My h2b says everyday 'no rsvp, no room at the inn on the wedding day' and much as I'd love to, I know I'd die if I had to do last minute moving around minutes before we sat for dinner. See it's not that hard to reply is it??? :ranting
TanyaBranning
Golden Missie

Postby caroline_A2 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 9:37 am

i know my parents arent impressed and its prob not great but its more for an uncle and his b***h of a wife who never rsvp to anything yet expect to be accommodated so they wont be if they dont rsvp. even if its a facebook message ill take it.
its not i rsvp the min i get an ivite wheter it be to a family dinner or otherwise.
caroline_A2
Major Missie

Postby mrsmccormack2b » Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:16 am

Oh I agree hun, this is really p*ssing me off at the moment too! I mean I even had stamped addressed envelopes for the RSVP & I'm still missing 1/3 of them & my RSVP cut off date was last Friday!! I'm tempted to tell the people (including two of my bridesmaids) that you're not bloody invited anymore and PS I want my feckin stamp back ha ha ha!!!

mrsmccormack2b
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 25 times

Postby Lorr01 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:01 pm

god some people are so rude and they getting a day out etc etc, maybe text or ring them and ask them straight out are they coming and have they received there invites, i wouldst take that nonsense i would be ringing and ringing them!! when i get invited to a wedding i sent the RSVP back to the bride and groom on the same day and they do text me and say if everyone was like you!!
Lorr01
Regular Missie

Have thanks: 11 times

Postby fionab1385 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:39 pm

I know I will definitely have to chase people, our date is 18th November for all RSVP's to be back and we only have half of them so far!!! What is annoying me is that 8 people have said they can't make the day but will come to the afters - feck ye, that's 8 invites I could have given to other people!
fionab1385
Goddess Missie

Have thanks: 95 times

Postby Lorr01 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:30 pm

Ah I had a long post typed up and it disappeared ha!!! But now that you say that about them people. I visited a mate last week and I was at her wedding couple of years ago, so I told her she would be coming to mine. She said ah that lovely thanks. Then went on to say that she was asked to a couple of weddings last year but couldn't afford to go as she was on maternity leave and hubby wasn't working and that weddings to expensive and would prefer an evening invite. I said to her I understand if you just want to come to evening of my wedding - just to let me no in lots of time so I can give the day invite to someone else!!! straight out no messing around- and she said ah no I just saying in general- but nowadays I think alot people don't like to get a full wedding invite for some reason the excitement of it and a day out is gone- maybe I'm very wrong in saying that!!
Lorr01
Regular Missie

Postby Lorr01 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:31 pm

Fiona, it's not to late to give others the invites.
Lorr01
Regular Missie

Postby TanyaBranning » Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:42 pm

I wouldn't care if they sent me smoke signals, just blinking reply!
TanyaBranning
Golden Missie

Postby Soph11 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:02 pm

Oh I totally understand where you are coming from, the RSVP's can be so annoying. I dont know why we bothered to put a date on it as no one really sticks to it, then we had to ask some if they were coming or not which is never fun. Grrrrrrrrr
Soph11
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 30 times

Postby TanyaBranning » Thu Nov 10, 2011 12:42 pm

They had/have 7 weeks to reply. Wouldn't you think it's time enough even for the busiest person! Two phoned my parents and told them they were rsvp'ing by phone. That's fine, because they formally told us.

One of my sil2b had 4 on an invite and rsvp'd for herself. Had to ring the other 3 and ask were they declining. Two were and one wasn't. But had I not made the call I'd be none the wiser!! It is hardly rocket science :roll:
TanyaBranning
Golden Missie

Return to General Wedding Discussion