What to do !!!

General wedding discussion, wedding tips and ideas. Start here if newly engaged and need to post questions to the other Missies.

What to do !!!

Postby sam-4-bob » Sat Aug 13, 2011 10:19 am

I was chatting online about wedding plans to my future sil. She has been dropping hints about being a bm. Now dont get me wrong, we love each other, always up in each others houses, go out together etc but I just dont want her as bm. I have an unbelievably close family so my sister and 3 cousins (who are like sisters) and being bms and I wouldnt have it any other way !!

So any way the other night we were chatting and I sent her a link to a bm dress I love as she asked to see it. She told me it would look great on her and if she is not going to be bm then she is wearing this

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150091215668992&set=a.439419903991.240046.319177768991&type=1&theater

Its a full white gown - looks like a wedding dress!!! I am so mad - am I over reacting ?

Nobody else wears white to a wedding do they ? Never mind a full lenght gown!!

H2B said to relax, that everyone there will think she is a muppet but still

:banghead :banghead :banghead
sam-4-bob
Addicted Missie

Have thanks: 82 times

Re: What to do !!!

Postby nc » Sat Aug 13, 2011 10:35 am

Ah now thats terrible sure everyone knows you shouldn't wear white to a wedding! (the dress is lovely tho!) I agree with ur h2b she will look like a fool if she wears it......maybe go for a few drinks with her and explain why you have picked your 4 bm's, so she is clear what's happening.
My cousins wife sent out an email a few mths before her wedding saying she would appreciate it if no one wore purple (bm's colour) of any bridal colour to the wedding......maybe you could do that :D
I wouldn't worry about it to much, your wedding is a while away and all this will be sorted by then......I really don't think your fsil will have the cheek to wear a white dress to her brothers wedding!
nc
Junior Missie

Have thanks: 8 times

Postby dreamhusband2b » Sat Aug 13, 2011 10:47 am

she is being realy silly and will look like an awful eejet wearing white! do u think she is jus saying that thinking u wont want her wearing that an ask her to b a bm then???
dreamhusband2b
Princess Missie

Have thanks: 105 times

Postby MrsEnglish » Sat Aug 13, 2011 10:52 am

You can get it in other colours - any chance she meant the dress in another colour??
Previously MsBBE
All loved up

Once In A While, In The Middle Of Ordinary Life, Love Gives You A Fairytale
Love began the best guy ever, the best sidekick I could hope for since 28th March 2004
MrsEnglish
Chief Missie

Have thanks: 234 times

Postby wuzzles » Sat Aug 13, 2011 11:00 am

Could you not get your H2B to speak to her as its his sister after all. She is clearly taking it to heart about not being a BM so I definately think that needs to be explained to her why she's not as its all stemming from that. How about involving her in some other way? TBH I dont think she would wear a white dress and is just making out she is just to upset you as in her eyes she is upset about not being a BM. Petty I know but best to get it sorted before it builds up into something it so dosent need to be
wuzzles
Golden Missie

Have thanks: 72 times

Postby bingowings » Sat Aug 13, 2011 11:21 am

Any chance she could be joking? The thing about texts and emails are that they can be taken up completely the wrong way. You don't get emotion in an email so it can be hard to know if she was trying to be funny or not. You say you're very close so take a step back and think would she really go out of her way to annoy you like this.

Just a thought.

On the other hand if she is doing it to annoy you I can arrange to be at your wedding and accidently walk into her with a huge glass of red wine. Now I don't usually agree with wasting good alcohol but I would be willing to put my beliefs aside for one day! :crackwhip :D
bingowings
Goddess Missie

Have thanks: 161 times

Postby sam-4-bob » Sat Aug 13, 2011 11:25 am

No she is being deadly serious, cause I asked her was it white and she said yes. She has since mentioned at her house. She is the sort of girl who really likes to make her point. I have explained why i picked my bms to her and my friends. I have her daughter as flowergirl and she is doing a reading. Im just going to let her on I think, way too much hassle !!!
sam-4-bob
Addicted Missie

Postby bingowings » Sat Aug 13, 2011 11:28 am

Fair enough. I think you're right let her off, if she does it she'll look like an idiot. She'd want to be very brave to wear a dress like that to a wedding. Again my offer is still open to pour that glass of red wine over her!!!! :D
bingowings
Goddess Missie

Have thanks: 161 times

Postby sam-4-bob » Sat Aug 13, 2011 11:33 am

Thanks mrsmcd2be !!!! any spare wine on that day will be used to steady my nerves!!
sam-4-bob
Addicted Missie

Postby cant_stop_smiling » Sat Aug 13, 2011 2:27 pm

She is definately very annoyed and jealous that she hasnt been asked to be your bridesmaid, so she might be trying to show you up by wearing what would definately pass as a wedding dress. But she's just going to show herself up. That's the thing about weddings...everyone else tells you how they think you should have your wedding, usually to suit themselves!!! I had a similar experience with a friend telling me she was wearing the same colour and style dress as my bridesmaids but thankfully we resolved it! It doesnt make it any less annoying or stressful though! :banghead
cant_stop_smiling
Senior Missie

Have thanks: 19 times

Postby Mrs Brideog » Sat Aug 13, 2011 2:40 pm

Fair play to you for being so calm about it. I think she is an absolute dope for even saying she was wearing it. Am I right in thinking you were going to have that dress for your BMs? So, is she gonna show up in a white dress that is the exact style of the BMs? What an eejit if she is. I just don't get why people go out of their way to piss of the bride and groom?! These people are supposed to be friends and loved ones. It boggles my mind! Some people are just so selfish!
Mrs Brideog
Most Diplomatic Missie 2011

Have thanks: 117 times

Postby wuzzles » Sat Aug 13, 2011 3:02 pm

No she is being deadly serious, cause I asked her was it white and she said yes. She has since mentioned at her house. She is the sort of girl who really likes to make her point. I have explained why i picked my bms to her and my friends. I have her daughter as flowergirl and she is doing a reading. Im just going to let her on I think, way too much hassle !!!

Hmmm, the only point she seems to be making is that she needs a good smack about the head!!!
:furious
wuzzles
Golden Missie

Have thanks: 72 times

Postby glee26 » Sat Aug 13, 2011 3:40 pm

Omg :shock:

I would let her wear it, she will feel like an absolute tool on the day!

She has to be joking though? It is quite "wedding dress" looking!
glee26
Addicted Missie

Have thanks: 47 times

Postby muckypup » Sat Aug 13, 2011 3:42 pm

no way in hell would i let her wear white hun - my sister in law posted something similar on fb just to annoy me though as we dont get on - i told her right out that you dont wear white to someone elses wedding - stand yr ground pet xx

:xmas1 :xmas1 :xmas1
muckypup
Winner of 5 Missie Awards 2011

Have thanks: 108 times
Other Half: Mr Muckypup

Postby hella_patchella » Sat Aug 13, 2011 4:58 pm

She would look like such a clown if she wore that dress to your wedding. Everyone would only be laughing at her... Well I know I would be anyway!!
hella_patchella
Addicted Missie

Have thanks: 97 times

Next

Return to General Wedding Discussion