Wedding Locations Portugal

If you're NOT tying the knot in Ireland, post all about it here. Greece, Spain, Italy, France.... any foreign destination.

Re: Wedding Locations Portugal

Postby Charlie7 » Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:20 am

Thanks Donnac,
appreciate the help.
Charlie7
Newbie Missie

Have thanks: 0 time

Postby jayne » Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:41 am

flowerbride wrote:Hi I'm doing a bit of research on the web into what papers we need for getting married abroad?
Does anybody know if we can have our civil/legal part of the wedding ceremony done in portugal or does it have to be done at home before you go over? thanks c.

Flowerbride, are you both Irish/living in Ireland?
Are you planning on having a religious ceremony or just civil ceremony in Portugal?
The rules seem to be different for each country.
If you plan on having a civil ceremony here, you'll need to contact your local registrar. You'll have to have witnesses. There's an advice article on this site about State Requirements for getting married in Ireland. It's under Wedding Articles at the top of each page.
jayne
Newbie Missie

Postby Nala » Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:36 am

Hi smiley_face,

Hoping to get married in Algarve summer 2011 and really like the look of Os Agostos. Its early days for us yet...only been searching the web but i'm going to algarve at end of month and hope to look at some places then. I see you have booked Os Agotos. Do you know how many they can cater for? We are hoping to have 150-180 people.

Are you using a wedding planner?

Thanks..
Nala
Newbie Missie

Postby Mrs smiley_face » Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:06 pm

Hi Lady Indigo, yes they can cater for larger numbers but you would probably be in the Marquee they also have on site rather than dining in the old farm buildings. Yes we're using Simplicity events. Good luck with your trip over there, there are so many places to choose from and you are lucky you have lots of time to get everything how you want it. We kinda did everything v quickly because we really wanted to get married this year (and really only decided in Jan!) and we had a limited number of dates to choose from but we're really happy with the plan so far thankfully!

For this post, Mrs smiley_face was thanked by:
Nala
Mrs smiley_face
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 22 times

Postby flowerbride » Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:08 pm

jayne wrote:
flowerbride wrote:Hi I'm doing a bit of research on the web into what papers we need for getting married abroad?
Does anybody know if we can have our civil/legal part of the wedding ceremony done in portugal or does it have to be done at home before you go over? thanks c.

Flowerbride, are you both Irish/living in Ireland?
Are you planning on having a religious ceremony or just civil ceremony in Portugal?
The rules seem to be different for each country.
If you plan on having a civil ceremony here, you'll need to contact your local registrar. You'll have to have witnesses. There's an advice article on this site about State Requirements for getting married in Ireland. It's under Wedding Articles at the top of each page.

Hi, we’ve got it sorted so far
We will have a civil in Ireland before we go over and have our church blessing in portugal.
Thanks c
flowerbride
Newbie Missie

Postby flowerbride » Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:18 pm

donnac0711 wrote:Hey Charlie 7,

Im meeting with Paula from Algarve wedding planners. She is really lovely and helpful. I havent agreed to use her services as of yet, ill decide after meeting. It is worth checking her out.

Hi donnac and charlie, i'm also using paula, she has been great so far. :clapper
let us know how you're getting on?
flowerbride
Newbie Missie

Postby Tee 79 » Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:15 pm

Hi there iam getting married in Portugal on the 15 June 2011. I am going over on the 12th April to see my venue and to make sure its the right choice for us. We hired the Algrave wedding agency and there venues are fab where going for a five star hotel over looking the beac in Albuferia so fingers crossed its the one. I love Portugal its fab so anywhere u decide will be perfect iam sure. Ill keep u posted how i get on but aybe browse there website for ideas. Best of luck. Tee :)
Tee 79
Newbie Missie

Postby flowerbride » Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:49 pm

Hi Tee79. it's great to be able to see venues. We're just back from a trip ourselves. We met up with all suppliers which is great. I'm sure you will enjoy the beach venue they all looked fab!
flowerbride
Newbie Missie

Postby Mrs smiley_face » Thu Apr 01, 2010 4:58 pm

:bump

Hi all!
Just wondering how are all the portuguese brides to be getting along?! :)
Mrs smiley_face
Fanatic Missie

Postby mrsOtobe » Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:30 am

Hi smiley_face! Going ok thanks - well to be honest, I hadn't really progressed anything any further over the last while, but there's suddenly only 5 months to go (!) so gonna sit down and look at my to-do list again this weekend!! How's things with you?

Realised I never PM'd you with my address for that map - will do it now if its still ok to send to me? Sorry for the delay!!
mrsOtobe
Addicted Missie

Have thanks: 8 times

Postby Mrs smiley_face » Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:05 pm

Much the same here, took a little break but probably need to get going a bit again! :lol:

Yeah PM me and I'll post it on, no worries! 8-)
Mrs smiley_face
Fanatic Missie

Postby soph » Fri May 07, 2010 11:38 am

Hello all!!

First of all, let me say that this website is a truly help and very very usefull. It's great that all the brides 2 be are sharing their experiences!! We also picked the Algarve for our wedding because we met there 5 years ago :)
soph
Newbie Missie

Postby im married » Fri May 07, 2010 11:43 am

hi soph, welcome to the site

im married
Supreme Missie

Have thanks: 388 times

Postby cheeky charlie » Thu May 13, 2010 11:39 pm

Hi, I have found the lovely church and venue across the road in Praia da Luz but very small resort so worried there won't be enough there for my guests on 1/2 wk holiday. Does anyone know of venues and or accommodation in alvor?

Thanks x
cheeky charlie
Newbie Missie

Postby bri2be » Fri May 14, 2010 12:08 pm

hi, we are getting married in a place in Silves called Quinta da Pomona. its like an old farmhouse kind of building (something different!) and theres oranges trees growing around it. we were torn beteween that and Grand Real but were afraid about the numbers so went with Pomona- did any of ye look at it when ye were over? the wedding planner suggested it but we'd seen so many at that stage we said -its fine we've seen enough now but the next morning we said- feck we'll just go for a look so got a taxi there ourelves and that was it then!(after weeks of discussion between ourselves!)
bri2be
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 30 times

PreviousNext

Return to Weddings Abroad