Wedding Locations Portugal

If you're NOT tying the knot in Ireland, post all about it here. Greece, Spain, Italy, France.... any foreign destination.

Re: Wedding Locations Portugal

Postby mrsOtobe » Fri May 14, 2010 12:19 pm

bri2be wrote:hi, we are getting married in a place in Silves called Quinta da Pomona. its like an old farmhouse kind of building (something different!) and theres oranges trees growing around it. we were torn beteween that and Grand Real but were afraid about the numbers so went with Pomona- did any of ye look at it when ye were over? the wedding planner suggested it but we'd seen so many at that stage we said -its fine we've seen enough now but the next morning we said- feck we'll just go for a look so got a taxi there ourelves and that was it then!(after weeks of discussion between ourselves!)

Hi bri2be, I think we might have seen your venue. I can't remember the name of it to know for sure though. But we were shown a farmhouse style building in Silves. The place we saw sounds very similar to your description anyway!
mrsOtobe
Addicted Missie

Have thanks: 8 times

Postby bri2be » Fri May 14, 2010 12:23 pm

that must be it so! alll our wedding party are staying in caroveiro so its only10 mins to venue so its handy, gonna have a couple of buses to bring them. :-)
bri2be
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 30 times

Postby mrsOtobe » Fri May 14, 2010 12:26 pm

bri2be wrote:that must be it so! alll our wedding party are staying in caroveiro so its only10 mins to venue so its handy, gonna have a couple of buses to bring them. :-)

Yeah, it was lovely. When we saw it all the trees were in blossom and it was gorgeous. Our venue is just up the road in Estombar. Caroveiro will be the nearest spot for a few bars I think. Do you know Caroveiro much? I might pick your brains on a few things if you don't mind! :D
mrsOtobe
Addicted Missie

Postby bri2be » Fri May 14, 2010 12:31 pm

ive been there 3 times,i really like it, my friend has an apartment there and she got married there so i was at the wedding, so if i can help with anything i will :-)

For this post, bri2be was thanked by:
mrsOtobe
bri2be
Fanatic Missie

Postby mrsOtobe » Fri May 14, 2010 2:11 pm

Ok, I'll probably start bugging you soon so :lol:
mrsOtobe
Addicted Missie

Postby bri2be » Fri May 14, 2010 2:26 pm

o look, im exactly a month after u!
bri2be
Fanatic Missie

Postby mrsOtobe » Fri May 14, 2010 5:52 pm

Oh yeah, hadnt spotted that! Starting to think we should have opted for slightly later in the year, I think its still going to be BOILING over there on our date!
mrsOtobe
Addicted Missie

Postby bri2be » Sat May 15, 2010 7:46 pm

ah itll be lovely! it gets cold in the evening, how long ye going over b4 the wedding? we flying over the wednesday b4 and wedding on monday- we'll have aclimatised(sp?) by then ;-)
bri2be
Fanatic Missie

Postby mrsOtobe » Sun May 16, 2010 6:54 pm

Yeah we're going over a good few days before too. Wedding is on the Friday and we are going over the Sunday before. Enough time to get a bit of a tan hopefully! Have to be careful not to go crazy and end up looking like a tomato though!!
mrsOtobe
Addicted Missie

Postby mrsOtobe » Sun May 16, 2010 6:55 pm

bri2be wrote:that must be it so! alll our wedding party are staying in caroveiro so its only10 mins to venue so its handy, gonna have a couple of buses to bring them. :-)

What's Carvoeiro like for going out for a few drinks? Is it lively or more of a cafe/restaurant culture type of town? Just looking for a recommendation for a couple of good spots to go for a drink.
mrsOtobe
Addicted Missie

Postby bri2be » Mon May 17, 2010 8:45 am

it has no nightclub but the pubs are good, theres an irish bar there and a cool bar called Havanas(cuban style) that does cocktails for 3 euro( mojito-yummy)
theres a bar down from that with a dance floor and they all stay open late,
carvoeiros nice because its not big so even if you dont arrange to meet people youll bump into them somewhere
bri2be
Fanatic Missie

Postby mrsOtobe » Mon May 17, 2010 1:55 pm

Sounds perfect, thanks for that!
mrsOtobe
Addicted Missie

Postby Mrs smiley_face » Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:12 pm

:bump

:bluewave Hey everyone! How are your plans coming along?
Mrs smiley_face
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 22 times

Postby mrsOtobe » Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:15 pm

Hey smiley_face! Hows you? Plans are going ok, still trying to sort out a cake, a florist and decorations though :? But hoping it'll be sorted soon. Hows everything with you? All sorted?
mrsOtobe
Addicted Missie

Postby Mrs smiley_face » Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:22 pm

Welcome back!! Missed you round here! We Portuguese brides seem far and few between!
All good with me, sorry to hear you're still having a few problems. Can your caterer recommend a cake maker maybe? Maybe a local florist/decorator too?
Think we are almost there with things, had a bit of a wobble with music but thankfully a friend stepped in and sorted that for us. Doing civil ceremony this Friday and had my hen last weekend.
Mrs smiley_face
Fanatic Missie

Have thanks: 22 times

PreviousNext

Return to Weddings Abroad